Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We love these! We love to use German chocolate cake with German Chocolate frosting. Delish! Definitely freeze for an hour or longer before dipping into hot chocolate, otherwise, the ball falls apart into your chocolate and then it looks way less appetizing. I may have to make some tomorrow, they just look so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Great (but super sweet) treat! I did make some modifications: 1. Let cake cool for 30 minutes. 2. Mix in 1/2 tub of frosting. 3. Use small scoop to form the balls, place on wax paper and freeze for 30-60 minutes. 4. I made mine into cake pop by dipping the tip of the stick into the melted chocolate and inserting into the cooled cake ball. 5. Used a full bag of the chocolate coating I purchased from craft store. 6. Decorated with sprinkles. 7. Use something to hold the sticks while the chocolate hardens. (Hint- I turned my metal collander upside down and inserted the sticks into the holes- worked great! You could also purchase styrofoam block at craft store) Overall these turned out great, I wrapped them up individually for a bake sale and they were a huge hit! While they take awhile to make, the time is mainly spent waiting on the cake to cool or the balls to chill. For my first batch I made all Chocolate (cake, icing, coating). But I cannot wait to experiment with various flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These were really good, but the confectioner's coating wasn't good on them, and was a disaster to roll in sprinkles. Next time, I'll use my recipe that's for dipped cookies: melt 12 oz. butterscotch chips, 12 oz. chocolate chips, and half a block of paraffin (wax for candy making) in a double boiler, mixing with a wire whisk until smooth. The mixture turns out very silky, and stays that way. It is a fantastic tasting and easy-to-work-with dip. I used chocolate cake and coconut-pecan frosting, and it was really good (but VERY sweet). I let the cake cool for 30 minutes before mixing in the frosting (used a hand mixer). Putting them in the freezer for a minimum of 3 hours is a must! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Fabulous. Brought them to a party and everyone was so surprised. The problem I had was that the chocolate was not NEAR enough to cover all the cake balls. I had to coat 1/2 of them in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was a fun activity with my daughter. The recipe was easy to follow and forms a nice base to make alterations. Tasty, easy and it makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I agree about the Andes Candies....these were amazing on devils food cake and chocolate frosting. I also bought the microwaveable chocolate dipping kit from the produce section for dipping fruit. I only dipped the balls half way in the chocolate, because the kit is small, but this made the balls easier to eat, because you don't bite into it and lose half of the shell on the floor. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookomatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made these with my own cake recipe and homemade frosting (i can't stand ready-made frostings) they turned out great, and all my party guests were crazy about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
poor directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made these many times. I've tried all kinds of combinations....Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and white coating....Lemon cake with lemon frosting and white coating...red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting and dark chocolate coating. Let me tell you, they are a HUGE hit at Church suppers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Great recipe!! The first time I made this, the result was Devils Food cake mixed with 1/2 a can of chocolate raspberry frosting and dipped it in white chocolate (with a bit of shortening in it). That was a bit too sweet for me though, so the next round was Devils food cake mixed with about 1/2 cup of very strong coffee and dipped in semi-sweet chocolate. The result was similar to a very rich and tasty truffle! Absolutely delicious!! Note: In both instances, I had to pop the cake/frosting or cake/coffee mix into the freezer for an hour so I could form the cake balls easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States