Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These taste good, but they're a major pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made these cake balls a couple of weeks ago for a 4H meeting and they were a hit. I stuck to the basics for my first attempt (white cake and frosting and almond bark with multicolored sprinkles). I baked the cake and turned it out onto wax paper (it rested 10 min) and let it cool until I could handle it and crumbled it with a fork and my fingers into the mixing bowl. I then slightly heated the canned frosting (about 1/3 of the can) in a bowl until pourable and mixed with my paddle just until combined. I refrigerated one hour and formed the balls by hand. It wasn't sticky, but held together fine. Placed them in the freezer on a tray one hour and melted the almond bark in one of those mini crockpots made for dipping strawberries, etc in coatings. Used the tool that came with the pot and rolled them into the melted coating and placed on wax paper. Immediately after each ball I sprinkled the colored sprinkles). After they were solid, I placed each in a mini muffin paper liner. They were very tasty, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is AWESOME! It's easy and fast, just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
They worked but I was surprized how long it took from start to finish. I used Betty Crocker Gluten Free cake mix. It worked to shape the balls, but when I put them on the sticks, they slid down. So I served my 'regular' batch on sticks and the gluten free ones upside down in muffin papers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made these per the recipe and afterwards reading the reviews (which is very much not like me) BUT be sure to follow the advice of LEXI70. I'm looking forward to making these again - but I will be applying LEXI70's advice for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by BluLobstah
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I used devils food cake mix and chocolate frosting..make sure cake is cool before crumbling and use about 3/4 of a 16 Paz container of frosting when cooled. Roll into balls and refrigerate for at least an hour before dipping in chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Definitely chill the cake batter before dipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Succinct, easy, just make sure to cool your cake before crumbling and cut off the edges if they're a bit too brown and/or hard. If you don't use a confectioner's coating (chocolate bar or candy making discs) be sure to either temper your chocolate or if you're using chocolate chips, add 1 Tb of shortening to every cup of chips to create a smooth chocolate coating that will harden and look nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made them what a disaster. The balls worked out great, a little soft placed, in refrigeration for 2 hrs, melting chocolate was the task and dipping. they kept falling off so I put them in the freezer tried to dip but the choc was a mess never again try that . Next time I will melt the cake icing and pour over the balls and be done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe...but I did make some changes...DON'T USE THE WHOLE CONTAINER OF ICING! This will give you a mess! Add 1/2 and mix well. Then add to your desired consistency. We like a little drier ball, like a truffle. I use the almond bark, a little bit of shortning to help with look when dried, and definetly try the Andies baking chips. Just enough mint flavor! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States