Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I made this with spice cake, cream cheese icing, and vanilla almond bark. My boyfriend, my son, and all their friends, went bolistic!!! I will definitely use this recipe over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
My kids have done this for years, they love them. Big hit at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
These are so easy to make and so good. I only just discovered the recipe about 6 wks ago and I have made them for my family twice and twice for co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Been making these for a while. Sometimes like this, sometimes on lollipop sticks. Quick, easy, versatile. And you can keep it simple or make them elaborate. I made them for the office this Easter, but the photos are too small to upload! I used white cake & strawberry frosting dipped in white and milk chocolate and yellow cake with banana frosting dipped in white and milk chocolate. I decorated some with sprinkles and some with additional frosting flowers, put them in 3 Easter baskets with sparkly Easter eggs, glitter chicks and flowers and it was a beautiful (and delicious) presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
some tips to keep in mind is that the cake you choose should be moist and dense, this will not work for a fluffy and sponge like cake. when turning your cake into crumbs make sure it is well crumbed. it is eaiser to place in a blender or food processor. for a weel dence cake let cake batter sit out for at least ten minutes before placing in oven. when adding frosting mis with hand of spatula. becarefull not to add to much frosting because it will come out to mushy and gross. last of all remember good cake goes well with good frosing so makesure that the flavors of your cake and frosting go wee together on more thing, your frosting cant be to light such as buttercream frosting or whipped cream. when dipping your cake in the chocolate, you can add a liitle shortning to thin out the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These taste good, but they're a major pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made these cake balls a couple of weeks ago for a 4H meeting and they were a hit. I stuck to the basics for my first attempt (white cake and frosting and almond bark with multicolored sprinkles). I baked the cake and turned it out onto wax paper (it rested 10 min) and let it cool until I could handle it and crumbled it with a fork and my fingers into the mixing bowl. I then slightly heated the canned frosting (about 1/3 of the can) in a bowl until pourable and mixed with my paddle just until combined. I refrigerated one hour and formed the balls by hand. It wasn't sticky, but held together fine. Placed them in the freezer on a tray one hour and melted the almond bark in one of those mini crockpots made for dipping strawberries, etc in coatings. Used the tool that came with the pot and rolled them into the melted coating and placed on wax paper. Immediately after each ball I sprinkled the colored sprinkles). After they were solid, I placed each in a mini muffin paper liner. They were very tasty, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is AWESOME! It's easy and fast, just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
They worked but I was surprized how long it took from start to finish. I used Betty Crocker Gluten Free cake mix. It worked to shape the balls, but when I put them on the sticks, they slid down. So I served my 'regular' batch on sticks and the gluten free ones upside down in muffin papers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made these per the recipe and afterwards reading the reviews (which is very much not like me) BUT be sure to follow the advice of LEXI70. I'm looking forward to making these again - but I will be applying LEXI70's advice for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States