Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Yummy and fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Cake truffles are a sure crowd pleaser, and they are not difficult to make. Some tips: 1. Use 1/2 can of frosting. It gives a great consistency -not mushy. 2. A hand mixer or food processor mix the cake and frosting easily. 3. As noted before, insert a toothpick and freeze the cake balls for at least an hour before dipping. 4. Consider buying dipping chocolate from your local chocolatier. I paid about $6 a pound for white and dark chocolate and it is superior to chocolate chips or those Wilton wafer thingys. 5. Closely monitor the temperature of the dipping chocolate - white chocolate in particular will 'seize up.' 6. Use a spoon or small ladle to aid in covering the cake ball with chocolate. if toothpicks don't work for you, hold the cake ball on a plastic fork with the two center tines broken out. 7. Serve them in mini muffin cups or candy cups. JoAnn has some darling ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These are awesome! I made the red velvet cake and mixed in cream cheese icing. After baking, I let it cool about 10 minutes. Then, I used about 2/3 of the icing container. My family loved these! My son even said, "These are so good you could sell them and make a lot of money!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Everyone loves these !! I mix/fold the icing right in the 9"13"glass pan a few min. out of the oven. Very easy. I love white cake mix with white icing and 1 pkg of dark chocolate chips melted down for the topping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Watch the video. The recipe leaves out the step where you refrigerate/freeze the balls before dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was simple to mix the crumbled cake with the dough, but I didn't read the reviews and know to freeze the balls before dipping. I found the cake balls were very mushy and would warp whenever I tried to dip them in the chocolate. I had to drizzle the hard chocolate instead since I couldn't dip it. I'll try freezing the mix the next time I attempt this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These are very time consuming. I made these for a holiday work party and everyone raved about them and they were all gone when it was time for me to take the tray home. The flavor was very good but maybe next time I should use a food processor to crumble up the cake or discard the overly cooked edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These are awesome! I made them a couple times with different combinations. They went over big! I Started them in the evening and refrigerate the frosting/cake mix over night. In the morning I form into balls and refrigerate a bit longer before coating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have made these and they are easy, amazing, and look great. after crumbling the cake, I add a container of frosting then roll into balls, then I put in freezer for 20-30 min, It is so easy to dip them after being in the freezer!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I just tried to make these and it turned into a gooey mess. Followed the directions to a tee. I put the batter int he refrigerator after a failed attempt of creating balls with my ball scooper. I pride myself in my baking and hated buying a box cake and frosting to make this with my children. They were so excited and then so disappointed. Time to make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States