Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
One of the best ways, I've found to melt and keep the chocolate at the right temp. is to put it on a bowl and then into my slow cooker with about an inch of water. Cover the bowl so water doesn't get inside and set to HIGH. Mine took about 1-1/2 hrs to get to where it was perfect for dipping. Once it's where it needs to be, switch temp. to LOW. Also, frozen "dough" dips a lot easier. It sets almost instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asnunez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Big success no matter cake mix or frosting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These are insane! Insane to make so many, recipe goes a long long way!Doesn't cost much! Insane trying to decide what flavor combinations! insane how delicious they are! Insane how fast they went! Insane many wanted the recipe and know how! SUCH a keeper! I made a lot of variety for Christmas...HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My son loves these so much he wanted them instead of cake for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hotpinktiffie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I'm not too big a fan of cake pops, but my cousins and friends all loved these! definitely cool the cake before adding frosting and then chill the balls for a bit before dunking them in the chocolate coating. we used colored candy melts and rainbow sprinkles. for the super cute cake pops in my picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotpinktiffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Do not use an entire tub of frosting or your cake balls will taste very gummy and not very good. I use half a tub of frosting for one box of cake mix and they are delicious! You can always add a little more frosting if you need it more moist... but once too moist you can't take it back out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
There were tears, sweat, cursing...and then there were cake balls. With the task of planning my best friends bridal shower, I thought these might be a fun alternative to cakes or cupcakes. Begin cake ball trial #1. I am not a baker by any means, and with all the different reviews about this recipe I was nervous to start! I baked a cake mix, mixed with icing while hot (I did not use all the icing and added a little at a time) and made into balls with a 1 inch diameter cookie scoop. Left toothpicks in the balls and put on sheets in the freezer. So far, so good. Several hours later, upon dipping them in chocolate melting disks, realized the toothpicks were a mistake-I couldn't get them off! Some fell off in the chocolate, some started crumbling, and in general came out rather unattractive looking, as the chocolate coated really thick. However, I still found them rather tasty and the texture not at all unpleasant. Plus, what an affordable party dessert! Despite the pain these are to make, I will definitely put these on the shower menu- with some extra decoration to pretty them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I did have a problem with the finished balls...I had a crack in the chocolate on just about all of the balls that I made. Does anyone have any suggestions to eliminate this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These are awesome for holiday giving. I used Strawberry cake mix and frosting and chocolate coating. You can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States