Cake and Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
i love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superprinces34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I did notc care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I did this for my picky teen girls Sunday School class. They all gave it 5 stars and there was none to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was really easy and delicious! I used the angel food cake, strawberry ice cream and dream whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I thought this was great! I had to add a little something though! I made homemade Ben & Jerry's Strawberry ice cream and bought an Angel Food Cake from WholeFoods. Layered it in a class bread pan...angel food, dry quaker oats, ice cream...repeat! IT WAS DELICIOUS...i absolutely love oatmeal in pretty much anything, and it worked great with this. I find that even though it doesn't look AMAZING in the dish, it didn't matter, because it was simply delicious! THANKS for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Easy but bland and not a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
So I took some liberties but stayed true to the concept (kinda). I decided to use the vanilla creme cake and purchased Blue Bell vanilla ice cream (boy am I glad it was on sale, so good!). I cut the pound cake into three layers. Layered with cake, ice cream, cake, ice cream and last layer of cake. Froze to firm up the ice cream. Then I spread cool whip like icing all over cake and added decorations (was my daughter's birthday cake). EVERYONE not only loved it but were highly impressed that I'd made it! The cool whip hide the fact that it looked messy due to my imperfect technique (first time doing something like this). It came out so delicious and easy!! Next time I'll try the chocolate creme cake and rocky road ice cream. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Today was my daughter Ashley's birthday and she loves angel food cake. As much as I love cooking that's how much I loathe baking, which was one of the reasons this recipe caught my eye. I'm sure both of my Oma's are looking down in despair! Anyway, like others, I changed it up a bit. Instead of breaking up the cake, I split it, put the ice cream on the bottom layer, topped it and glazed it with "Tunisianswife's chocolate glaze on this site. This was a great start Susan and we all (especially Ash) thank you for simple but delicious submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
We prefer chocolate, so we used that instead of the strawberry ice cream. Also served it with some raspberrys. Great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This cake came out great, except that you can see all the imperfections in the cake on the sides from the layers of icecream and ripped up cake. Also, if and when you put icing on the cake, it doesn't go over too well on the sides and gets quite messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States