Cajun Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was easy and very tasty but I think the "wild rice" ingrediant needs to be clarified. Real wild rice takes at least 50-60 minutes to cook so this recipe needs a variation/rice mix like; Uncle Ben's Long Grain AND Wild Rice. This way you can keep the simmering to 30 minutes. I recommend not using any flavoring packets and using low-sodium Cream of Mushroom soup. I used 2 cups chicken broth and later added another half cube while simmering (in lieu of flavor packet). It was delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This far exceeded my expectations. I just wanted something different without making a trip to the store and this recipe came up in my search. I put it together and after a while my house started smellin all good...this totally delivered great flavor without being too spicy for the little ones. This is definitely gonna become part of our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arliset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is very delicious and super easy! I made this for a potluck and it was a hit! I used Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice and still used the flavor packets. I also used some cayenne pepper to give it some kick but otherwise followed the recipe to a tee and did it all in my rice cooker! Just threw it all in there, hit the button and came out PERFECT! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is so very good. I made a homemade cream of mushroom soup instead of canned and used beef sausage because my guest does not eat pork. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
It couldnt taste much better. Great for healthy eating. I used some moose sausage rather than the requested sausage and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Nice change of pace! I went out on a limb and made a few changes. I knew there would be a lot of flavor from the sausage so I figured dinner would turn out regardless. Another reviewer made the point that actual wild rice takes about an hour to cook so I started the wild rice (and chicken broth) in the rice cooker earlier than the rest of the meal. I added a cup of extra water and let it keep cooking longer than usual. I didn't have enough chicken broth and I think it showed through in the end result. That mistake I won't make again. In one skillet I cooked up finely diced chicken, Maui onion and minced garlic with a tablespoon of olive oil. When that was partially cooked I added a cup of broccoli cut into smaller pieces than normal. In the other skillet I let the andouille sausage crisp up some. I omitted the mushrooms and mushroom soup because we don't care for mushrooms but I think they would have gone well in this dish. Also, I was in the mood for something lighter than the cream soup would make. I added the rice to the chicken mixture with some reconstituted chicken bouillon to help it break up some. When that was a nice fluffy consistency again I added the rice and chicken into the sausage pan and mixed it up will. It turned out delicious with great color, flavor and presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I am giving this 4 stars because my kids and husband really liked it. However, it was just way too salty for me between the soup and the sausage. Had a good base to build on, tho. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I love this recipe!!!! It is sooooo easy and the flavor is fantastic!!!! It is worth it if you can find the andouille sausage!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Good rice dish. If it had a little more kick to it I would be five stars. I didn't add the sausage, only because I made chicken breast stuff with sausage. But next time I'll add the sausage and maybe some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Was looking for something to go with some smoked brisket and came upon this recipe. Loved it! It will be in the rotation to make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States