Cajun Sweet Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This made GREAT turnovers! I followed the recipe exactly as directed, EXCEPT, I had no butter on hand, so I used a stick and a half of margarine instead. It is a sticky dough when you remove it from the fridge. To remedy this, only roll half the dough at a time, and use a medium-heavily floured surface to roll it out, keep your rolling pin floured well also. If it doesn't work out well on the first roll, knead the extra flour in that stuck to it, then try again, it will be easy to work with then.I made small turnovers, about 4" across when unfolded. They baked nicely at 350º for 23-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
best pastry dough I can find, use it for all my pies and tarts now. It is terrific with meat inside for an elegant dinner, just Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerre Gadoury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
I grew up in La. and my grandmother made sweet dough fig pies every year for the Christmas holidays. This recipe tastes as good as my memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I live in Lafayette, LA. I've had sweet dough pies all of my life, and love them. For those who are expecting a flaky crust, this is not the recipe for that. Sweet dough isn't supposed to be flaky. If it were, this recipe wouldn't be called Cajun Sweet Dough...it would be called Turnovers. This is a very authentic recipe. Absolutely wonderful!! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
This crust is not flaky, so if your looking for fluffy turnovers dont use this. The crust is real tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This crust was almost like a sugar cookie, sweeter than I expected. It was very tasty though and worked really well as apple turnovers because it held its shape very well and didn't have a bunch of filling leaking out. Refridgeration is a must though, because the dough is very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I used this for apple turnovers. My hubby's favorite. He says 'they are the beat he has ever eaten'. We have been married for 30 years, this is BERY high praise. Thanks for sharing,MzMudd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZMUDD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna G.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
OH MY GOD!! IT'S WONDERFUL!! THE PERFECT DOUGH FOR TURNOVER and maybe also for cookies! so crispy but also tender inside, you don't feel butter at all, very tasty and perfect! I follow the recipes exactly and they come out perfect! I fill them with apple briefly cooked with cherry jam, nuts, brown sugar and marsala, but you can fill it with everything you want, such as chocolate and nuts, figs, custard and so on..I will definetly use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I didn't like this at all. I made it wil my usual turnover recipe and it sucked up all the liquid and the dough crumbled very easily. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
how long and what temp. do you bake this At??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States