Cajun Sweet Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Finally, I've found it! I've been searching for a needle in a haystack and found this. It us the best dough recipe there is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wonderful results! Thanks so much, I have put it into my special recipe book "for good". My cousin's gift of Gravenstiens from her tree became delicious cinnamon scented apple filling. For the dough I reduced the sugar to 1c. (no problem), other than that, just as written. It was firm enough, not sticky when done, then chilled it 3 hrs. Let it warm up for 1/2 hr. before forming the hand pies and "pop tarts" (used a simple Wilton tart former). Not mentioned here is to pierce the tops to vent steam if you're making hand pies, prick with a fork if making smaller turnovers. I finished them with an egg wash and sugar sprinkled on top. Delightfully tender and soft but held their shape well, not crumbly, even my picky 7yo loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is a great sweet dough recipe. I used it several times. I am giving it four stars because it always comes out different each time. I am not sure if it's the humidity or the time I beat the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This dough is soooo good and easy to make! I made the pies yesterday and they are GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My dad requested cherry turnovers for breakfast so I decided to try this recipe. I was in a hurry to make it and completely messed up the instructions. Instead of creaming the butter and sugar in a separate bowl, I accidentally mixed everything together. This resulted in very crumbly dough, but I was able to salvage it through the addition of extra milk. I filled the dough with cherry pie filling and then drizzled a simple glaze over it after baking. My dad said that he didn't like the taste of this recipe at all, but most everyone else thought that it was good. I would probably not make this again as I don't feel that it is worth the effort. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is the best recipe if you want to make blackberry pies! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I can't rate this because I haven't tried this yet - but for anyone that has not tried sweet dough - this is wonderful (do not confuse this with sweet breads). The dough has a wonderful sweet flavor to it. I've never had it with fig - though I remember my grandma's fig preserves...soooooooooo good! My grandma used this as a pie crust and baked it - then filled it with a rich chocolate custard filling. I'm glad I saw this recipe. It brought back so many memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This dough is awesome...! It's a little hard to work with, so don't try to compare it to others, but it's worth the extra effort. I made tarts, mini pies and turnovers using this dough and they all turned out great! Dough is forgiving on cooking time thank goodness. I filled with berries, pumpkin, mincemeat, lemon and even chocolate. All fillings worked...! I fridged my dough overnight then let in sit out for about an hour before rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Julie P thank you this is a treat that we ate in Louisiana too. I had bits and pieces of the recipe and you made it complete. These are the best little pies, I like to add a little nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I live in Lafayette, LA. I've had sweet dough pies all of my life, and love them. For those who are expecting a flaky crust, this is not the recipe for that. Sweet dough isn't supposed to be flaky. If it were, this recipe wouldn't be called Cajun Sweet Dough...it would be called Turnovers. This is a very authentic recipe. Absolutely wonderful!! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States