Cajun Sweet Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
I grew up in La. and my grandmother made sweet dough fig pies every year for the Christmas holidays. This recipe tastes as good as my memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
best pastry dough I can find, use it for all my pies and tarts now. It is terrific with meat inside for an elegant dinner, just Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Tasty dough. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Really yummy! Added a bit of pumpkin spice and filled with pumpkin pie filling. Cinnamon and sugar sprinkled lightly over the finished product made it extra sweet and delicious! Great snack to get in the Thanksgiving spirit! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I used this for apple turnovers. My hubby's favorite. He says 'they are the beat he has ever eaten'. We have been married for 30 years, this is BERY high praise. Thanks for sharing,MzMudd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZMUDD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
great recipe for apple or cherry turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I made some small apple empanadas with this recipe, and my boyfriend is still bringing it up in conversations with strangers weeks later. He swears it's the best thing he's ever eaten. This recipe is a jewel. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This made GREAT turnovers! I followed the recipe exactly as directed, EXCEPT, I had no butter on hand, so I used a stick and a half of margarine instead. It is a sticky dough when you remove it from the fridge. To remedy this, only roll half the dough at a time, and use a medium-heavily floured surface to roll it out, keep your rolling pin floured well also. If it doesn't work out well on the first roll, knead the extra flour in that stuck to it, then try again, it will be easy to work with then.I made small turnovers, about 4" across when unfolded. They baked nicely at 350º for 23-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna G.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
OH MY GOD!! IT'S WONDERFUL!! THE PERFECT DOUGH FOR TURNOVER and maybe also for cookies! so crispy but also tender inside, you don't feel butter at all, very tasty and perfect! I follow the recipes exactly and they come out perfect! I fill them with apple briefly cooked with cherry jam, nuts, brown sugar and marsala, but you can fill it with everything you want, such as chocolate and nuts, figs, custard and so on..I will definetly use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
For most of my life I disliked pie crust. Dry, somewhat tasteless...a sad ending to a piece of pie. Then I tried Julie's recipe. It's amazing!! I use it for anything pie, anything turnover. You can't go wrong! Everyone is wowed by it..even my Mom who was happy with her crust. It's little like sugar cookies. Thank you for sharing it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarfoot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States