Cajun Sweet Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I live in Lafayette, LA. I've had sweet dough pies all of my life, and love them. For those who are expecting a flaky crust, this is not the recipe for that. Sweet dough isn't supposed to be flaky. If it were, this recipe wouldn't be called Cajun Sweet Dough...it would be called Turnovers. This is a very authentic recipe. Absolutely wonderful!! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
OUTSTANDING! Native Louisianian,and I love this. Tastes like a mild sugar cookie. We made tiny pies using the top of a large glass to cut circles, 1tsp. fig jam for the filling, fork crimped the edges and sprinkled with sparkling sugar after egg white brush. Y-U-M!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I liked this recipe as a cookie but for a turnover, I don't know, I find it a bit sweet. This could have been my filling choice, though. I'll make it again as tea cookies but not for turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna G.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
OH MY GOD!! IT'S WONDERFUL!! THE PERFECT DOUGH FOR TURNOVER and maybe also for cookies! so crispy but also tender inside, you don't feel butter at all, very tasty and perfect! I follow the recipes exactly and they come out perfect! I fill them with apple briefly cooked with cherry jam, nuts, brown sugar and marsala, but you can fill it with everything you want, such as chocolate and nuts, figs, custard and so on..I will definetly use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
For most of my life I disliked pie crust. Dry, somewhat tasteless...a sad ending to a piece of pie. Then I tried Julie's recipe. It's amazing!! I use it for anything pie, anything turnover. You can't go wrong! Everyone is wowed by it..even my Mom who was happy with her crust. It's little like sugar cookies. Thank you for sharing it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarfoot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Really yummy! Added a bit of pumpkin spice and filled with pumpkin pie filling. Cinnamon and sugar sprinkled lightly over the finished product made it extra sweet and delicious! Great snack to get in the Thanksgiving spirit! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I love this recipe, so sweet and soft. Fluffs up nicely and I put any thing in it and taste great. Just followed the direction of putting together. I just 350 and check for browning. After that, all is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This made GREAT turnovers! I followed the recipe exactly as directed, EXCEPT, I had no butter on hand, so I used a stick and a half of margarine instead. It is a sticky dough when you remove it from the fridge. To remedy this, only roll half the dough at a time, and use a medium-heavily floured surface to roll it out, keep your rolling pin floured well also. If it doesn't work out well on the first roll, knead the extra flour in that stuck to it, then try again, it will be easy to work with then.I made small turnovers, about 4" across when unfolded. They baked nicely at 350º for 23-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I didn't like this at all. I made it wil my usual turnover recipe and it sucked up all the liquid and the dough crumbled very easily. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This dough was very sticky and hard to work with. My turnovers did not come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States