Cajun Style Red Bean and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I live in South Mississppi, and my family LOVES this recipe! I leave out bacon and ham hock, I mix Anduoille sausage and smokey hollow cajun sausage. Also, I use 4 cans Van Camps New Orleans style Canned red beans instead of dried kidney beans....Also, cut the chicen broth in half, we like it thick! Huge winner in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was SOOOO yummy!! I made it last night and it was DELICIOUS. Changes I made: I used polish kielbasa as andouille sausage is hard to find. I put in the whole package as I wasn't about to leave half a package in the fridge. I left out the bacon as it really doesn't need it and it's too fattening. I left out the ham hock as the store only had them in packs of three and I wouldn't use the others. I'd imagine that they'd give the dish even MORE flavor, though... I added three cans (about 6 cups) of broth as 8 cups seemed like a lot to me and I wanted it to be thicker. I topped it with the rice, sliced green onions, a small dollup of fat free sour cream, and some shredded colby jack cheese. Serve it with cornbread and you have a heartwarming dish on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Absoultely delicious...just add cornbread and it's a full meal. We had a group of people over and everyone loved it. It was easy to make, just timely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was delicious. The entire house was filled with the great smell of cajun cooking while I was preparing this! I added an extra cup of stock halfway through cooking, some cayenne pepper, and extra seasonings, but otherwise stuck to the recipe as written. Right down to the smoked ham hock. We really enjoyed this. If you're on a low-carb diet, just skip the rice and this will be the perfect dish for you. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Didn't rate kid friendly because none tried it. Gave it to everyone in the office and they all wanted the recipe. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This was very tasty and a real hit in our house. Even the grandkids loved it! I definitely will add this to our regular dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
This was a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This soup was kicking! I had a party of 12 people & everyone said it was great. The flavors blended nicely. I added some chunked leftover ham & served with white rice. 5 stars all the way! Used smoked sausage & red beans instead of kidney. I did pick out the fat pieces from the bacon as it floated to the top, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Jocko
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCKO758

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Mmm! This was excellent, though I left out the ham hock (hate ham), Next time I will add more beans and more green pepper, and possibly also some broccoli for extra nutrition. I also used about 3 times the Cajun spice called for. My boyfriend added a few slices of pepperoni to the leftovers and thought that was tasty, though I remain skeptical...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States