Cajun Style Red Bean and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
If you like Cajun cooking, you'll like this recipe. Not highly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Mmm! This was excellent, though I left out the ham hock (hate ham), Next time I will add more beans and more green pepper, and possibly also some broccoli for extra nutrition. I also used about 3 times the Cajun spice called for. My boyfriend added a few slices of pepperoni to the leftovers and thought that was tasty, though I remain skeptical...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Great soup for a cold winter day! Didn't have andouille so substituted with a spicy and grainy sausage that I can find locally. Didn't have a ham hock on hand so added extra bacon, it worked, but I'll use a ham hock next time. Will add a bit more cajun seasoning next time for our preference. Served with rice and cornbread on the side, both worked great. Thank you for this delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Marie Dirks
Living In: Bemmel, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe was GREAT the only thing is that it took a little bit longer to make than I thought it would. Next time I would use pre-cooked bacon instead of regular bacon. I used less broth as well and substituted Kielbasa for Sausage. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was SOOOO yummy!! I made it last night and it was DELICIOUS. Changes I made: I used polish kielbasa as andouille sausage is hard to find. I put in the whole package as I wasn't about to leave half a package in the fridge. I left out the bacon as it really doesn't need it and it's too fattening. I left out the ham hock as the store only had them in packs of three and I wouldn't use the others. I'd imagine that they'd give the dish even MORE flavor, though... I added three cans (about 6 cups) of broth as 8 cups seemed like a lot to me and I wanted it to be thicker. I topped it with the rice, sliced green onions, a small dollup of fat free sour cream, and some shredded colby jack cheese. Serve it with cornbread and you have a heartwarming dish on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
My 83 year old mother loves this recipe as do I. I didn't have the ham or as much andouille as needed but used some kielbasa. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
great soup. my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Very good. I've made this twice for my husband's "Cajun" day at work and it received high marks both times. In fact, his coworker (who lived in Louisiana for man years) thinks this is very good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was a great recipe. I did it in the slow cooker and used mild andouille, less cajun spice and more rice for the kids and everyone ate it up. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States