Cajun Style Red Bean and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious! I've made red beans and rice before, which is rather thick and takes much longer and more work to prepare. I like the soupy consistency of this recipe since it makes it more of a main dish. Don't leave out the rice or green onions. I used extra of both. The rice cuts the richness of the dish and the spiciness of the andouille. The green onions add a bit of crunch and freshness which complement the dish. I wouldn't leave out the bacon either since it gives added flavor. I used a leftover ham bone instead of a ham hock and after cooking for an hour, added a couple cups of diced ham along with the salt. It was plenty spicy with the andouille but my boyfriend who likes things hot added Tabasco. Would definitely make again! A great way to use a leftover hambone and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I've made this twice and liked it with hot corn bread. Be careful, though. It's quite oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. Andouille sausage can be sustituted with smoked sausage without much of an affect on taste. If you like it thicker you can take out a cup of the cooked beans and mash them with a fork. It thickens it up and makes it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSAVOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Amant, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
We have a tradition in which I (the husband) cook dinner once a week. I always try to make it special. We both love Cajun cuisine but there are no good Cajun restaurants in this area. This recipe really hit the spot. (Thank goodness the local meat market carries andouille sausage.) I followed the recipe precisely except I didn't add any salt. This soup with cornbread made for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Hubby really liked this one. Kids, not so much. But do kids really count on a classic like this?lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvBNaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Gets a couple stars knocked off because real Red Beans & Rice is made with actual "red beans" and NOT red KIDNEY beans. I don't know if northerners can't find this, but Bush's and Trappey's has the canned variety of "red beans". Red beans look like black-eyed peas except they're red - quite different in look and taste from kidney beans. I should think that andouille would be harder to find than red beans. Why not use the real thing in an otherwise good recipe? If you have to substitute kidney beans for red beans, may as well substitute smoked sausage for the andouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Delicious! My husband and i loved it. Described as "spicy" but wasnt spicy at all, not even a little bit.... or was it because i used a different kind of sausage? I couldnt find andouille sausgae so i used a regular smoked sausage.Never had andouille either so im not sure if that what was suppose to be the "spice" in the soup. Anyway..spicey or not it had great flavor. Make sure you taste your soup before you add your salt. The chicken broth had plenty of sodium so i didnt have to add any salt. I also used red beans instead of kidney.Other than that followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This soup was kicking! I had a party of 12 people & everyone said it was great. The flavors blended nicely. I added some chunked leftover ham & served with white rice. 5 stars all the way! Used smoked sausage & red beans instead of kidney. I did pick out the fat pieces from the bacon as it floated to the top, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This had a very good flavor. I followed the recipe almost exactly, the only changes were that I used 2 ham hocks instead of 1, added 2 tsp of cajun as suggested and I only added 7 cups of broth instead of 8. I still felt like it was thin. I was hoping for something a little heartier so next time I'll try 5 or 6 cups of broth and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopa, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I made this recipe without the sausage because I think sausage overpowers the other ingredients. I also used smoked ham hocks and cayenne pepper. No extra salt needed. Loved it! Served it with a garlic stuffed pot roast and rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States