Cajun Style Red Bean and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I've made this twice and liked it with hot corn bread. Be careful, though. It's quite oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. Andouille sausage can be sustituted with smoked sausage without much of an affect on taste. If you like it thicker you can take out a cup of the cooked beans and mash them with a fork. It thickens it up and makes it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSAVOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Amant, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
We have a tradition in which I (the husband) cook dinner once a week. I always try to make it special. We both love Cajun cuisine but there are no good Cajun restaurants in this area. This recipe really hit the spot. (Thank goodness the local meat market carries andouille sausage.) I followed the recipe precisely except I didn't add any salt. This soup with cornbread made for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Hubby really liked this one. Kids, not so much. But do kids really count on a classic like this?lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Gets a couple stars knocked off because real Red Beans & Rice is made with actual "red beans" and NOT red KIDNEY beans. I don't know if northerners can't find this, but Bush's and Trappey's has the canned variety of "red beans". Red beans look like black-eyed peas except they're red - quite different in look and taste from kidney beans. I should think that andouille would be harder to find than red beans. Why not use the real thing in an otherwise good recipe? If you have to substitute kidney beans for red beans, may as well substitute smoked sausage for the andouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Delicious! My husband and i loved it. Described as "spicy" but wasnt spicy at all, not even a little bit.... or was it because i used a different kind of sausage? I couldnt find andouille sausgae so i used a regular smoked sausage.Never had andouille either so im not sure if that what was suppose to be the "spice" in the soup. Anyway..spicey or not it had great flavor. Make sure you taste your soup before you add your salt. The chicken broth had plenty of sodium so i didnt have to add any salt. I also used red beans instead of kidney.Other than that followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This soup was kicking! I had a party of 12 people & everyone said it was great. The flavors blended nicely. I added some chunked leftover ham & served with white rice. 5 stars all the way! Used smoked sausage & red beans instead of kidney. I did pick out the fat pieces from the bacon as it floated to the top, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This had a very good flavor. I followed the recipe almost exactly, the only changes were that I used 2 ham hocks instead of 1, added 2 tsp of cajun as suggested and I only added 7 cups of broth instead of 8. I still felt like it was thin. I was hoping for something a little heartier so next time I'll try 5 or 6 cups of broth and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopa, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I made this recipe without the sausage because I think sausage overpowers the other ingredients. I also used smoked ham hocks and cayenne pepper. No extra salt needed. Loved it! Served it with a garlic stuffed pot roast and rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This tastes wonderful! A great chilly-day soup. I turned this into a crockpot recipe. Only modifications I made was to skip the oil and just fry the bacon in it's own oil and then poured the drippings into the crock. I also put 3/4 cup uncooked brown rice in with the rest to cook in all the juices. Next time, I think i'll make more broth, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States