Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
This recipe sounded so delicious! It did taste great, but we couldn't eat it. It was so soggy, you couldn't even cut it with a knife...it just fell apart. I even tried cooking it twice as long as the directions stated. I am not sure how they would eat this down in Cajun country, but this is not what I would call meatloaf. More like, meatmush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
I omitted the evaporated milk but added 2 teaspoons of sugar to balance out the taste, so the meatloaf didn't turn out meshy. Didn't add the sausage either 'cos I couldn't get hold of any. Great taste and good texture anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
A first class meat loaf with a little bite to it. Easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
This meatloaf is delicious.. Just leave out the sausage and the evaporated milk and the nutmeg. I also added a teaspoon of chili powder. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
This is an awesome dish far removed from what mom made. Took a bit longer than 20 minutes for prep time but WELL worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
Fantastic & Easy to make - Winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
It's always good to find a timeless recipe updated with great flavor and lots of zest! Thanks, enjoyed the change and will keep on file for future dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
I love this dish and have made it many times. Play around with it a bit. I use pre-mixed cajun spices and put in five teaspoons (I like it hot!). I also use fresh milk because there's never any evaporated milk in the house. I also use less milk than the recipe suggests and cook the tomato sauce/milk mixture quite a long time to reduce it to a thick paste. In place of andouille sausage I also use ordinary pork sausage. Of course, the way I make it, the kids won't touch it, so there's more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I like spicy food so I added jalepenos to this recipe. Guaranteed heartburn but it was so worth it. This is a great recipe which I'm sure I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This recipe made my husband clean the plate. And my mother-in-law was speechless. We are a couple that likes the added spice in our life. Next time I will try adding shrimps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States