Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
This recipe sounded so delicious! It did taste great, but we couldn't eat it. It was so soggy, you couldn't even cut it with a knife...it just fell apart. I even tried cooking it twice as long as the directions stated. I am not sure how they would eat this down in Cajun country, but this is not what I would call meatloaf. More like, meatmush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
I omitted the evaporated milk but added 2 teaspoons of sugar to balance out the taste, so the meatloaf didn't turn out meshy. Didn't add the sausage either 'cos I couldn't get hold of any. Great taste and good texture anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
A first class meat loaf with a little bite to it. Easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
This meatloaf is delicious.. Just leave out the sausage and the evaporated milk and the nutmeg. I also added a teaspoon of chili powder. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
This is an awesome dish far removed from what mom made. Took a bit longer than 20 minutes for prep time but WELL worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
Fantastic & Easy to make - Winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
It's always good to find a timeless recipe updated with great flavor and lots of zest! Thanks, enjoyed the change and will keep on file for future dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
I love this dish and have made it many times. Play around with it a bit. I use pre-mixed cajun spices and put in five teaspoons (I like it hot!). I also use fresh milk because there's never any evaporated milk in the house. I also use less milk than the recipe suggests and cook the tomato sauce/milk mixture quite a long time to reduce it to a thick paste. In place of andouille sausage I also use ordinary pork sausage. Of course, the way I make it, the kids won't touch it, so there's more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I like spicy food so I added jalepenos to this recipe. Guaranteed heartburn but it was so worth it. This is a great recipe which I'm sure I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This recipe made my husband clean the plate. And my mother-in-law was speechless. We are a couple that likes the added spice in our life. Next time I will try adding shrimps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States