Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My boyfriend and I just made this for the first time. We used tabasco and found it a little spicy and next time will try a milder pepper sauce. This is replacing our plain old boring meatloaf. We absolutely love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Overall, a good meatloaf recipe. Had a nice "zip", but not much heat (IMHO). I read all of the reviews and added some changes of my own. Here's what I did: a) substituted red bell pepper for the green one called for (since so many reviewers warned about the "heat factor", I thought a red pepper would tame the heat as red peppers are sweeter than green ones), b) substituted ground chorizo for andouille (the andouille I found was very firm, not crumbly) and c) patted the meatloaf mixture into a loaf pan instead of a 9x13 inch pan. As far as preparation goes, there are a couple of things to note. First, my veggie mixture took WAY longer to cook down than the recipe directed (i.e. to form a thick paste). I ended up cooking the mixture over medium, then very high heat for at least 15 minutes (this was after adding the milk and katsup). I still had to drain off some of the oil after that, but otherwise seemed fine. Second, the veggie reduction does take a while to cool, so be sure to allow time for it. Finally, WATCH YOUR LOAF! Mine came out a bit burnt on top, but not too bad. Perhaps covering it with foil (at least part of the cooking time) would eliminate this? Served with au gratin potatoes on the side, but would also go well with mac & cheese (I served left-overs with mac). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The best yet! Outstanding! My family loves it! I make double batches and freeze in the aluminum loaf pans. Pull out of freezer on my way to work, throw in oven when I get home...how much easier can it ge,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is a very tasty meatloaf! We made it twice, and will definitively make it again! Notes: Remove meatloaf from the cooking pan promptly, and place it either on a rack or paper towel, to let access juices, etc, out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Town & Country Gardens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Yum, Yum, Yum. Meatloaf is a staple in our house, and this was a awesome twist on an overplayed favorite. Not mushy, not too spicy (but definitely has a good kick - we love spicy food!) I followed the recipe almost exactly, increasing the cooking time for the vegetables just a bit and used a spicy andouille sausage. I'm a total amateur in the kitchen, so it did take me quite a bit longer to prepare this than stated, but it was well worth the effort and the directions were easy enough for me to follow. Served with "Cajun Sweet Potatoes" from allrecipes, green beans, and Banana's Foster for dessert. Got a "wow!" from everyone! Thank you for posting this, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This meatloaf was outstanding. The first time I made it, because my andoiulle sausage came partially cooked, it was hard to crumble. The next time I made it with Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage, much easier to crumble, and it tasted just as good! Note to review readers: make sure your veggie mix is cooked into a nice thick paste before mixing with the meat, or you will have a mushy loaf! Also, if you have little ones like we do, cut the recipe in half, and make one half with a little less spice, recipe as is is a little too spicy for kids...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This meatloaf ROCKS! Follow the recipe just as it is because it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was great for dinner and super great the next day fried in olive oil for sandwiches. Loved the sandwiches!!! The only change I made was to leave out the green peppers, doubled the amount of onions and used hot Italian sausage. I also used regular milk since I didn't have evaporated and I don't think it made any difference. Next time I make this I am going to make two loaves and freeze one to have on hand for sandwiches. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Truth be told, I'm a meatloaf junkie. I LOVE meatloaf. I also hate spicy food. But my cousin made this recipe for me when I visited her in Texas and I immediately asked for the recipe. This is the BEST MEATLOAF EVER. I has a heck of a kick. Too much for my cousin...she says she wouldn't make it again. I, however, have made this several times since that visit. I absoltely love it!!! In fact, I'm about to make it again for the girls at work to try out. This is GREAT STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kreativess
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is THE ONE! Ive been searching for an awesome meatloaf recipe and here it is!! The only change I made was using all beef as I dont care for pork. I love to bake so this works well for me, forming it on the baking sheet gives it that hard edged texture I love but I also try them in a muffin tin for 30min on 400. UPDATE: Ive been making this for years now and while trying to eat healthier I altered this recipe by using ground turkey and turkey kielbasa. I was worried at first it wouldnt come out as flavorful but its delicious!! GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States