Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This meatloaf ROCKS! Follow the recipe just as it is because it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was great for dinner and super great the next day fried in olive oil for sandwiches. Loved the sandwiches!!! The only change I made was to leave out the green peppers, doubled the amount of onions and used hot Italian sausage. I also used regular milk since I didn't have evaporated and I don't think it made any difference. Next time I make this I am going to make two loaves and freeze one to have on hand for sandwiches. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Truth be told, I'm a meatloaf junkie. I LOVE meatloaf. I also hate spicy food. But my cousin made this recipe for me when I visited her in Texas and I immediately asked for the recipe. This is the BEST MEATLOAF EVER. I has a heck of a kick. Too much for my cousin...she says she wouldn't make it again. I, however, have made this several times since that visit. I absoltely love it!!! In fact, I'm about to make it again for the girls at work to try out. This is GREAT STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kreativess
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is THE ONE! Ive been searching for an awesome meatloaf recipe and here it is!! The only change I made was using all beef as I dont care for pork. I love to bake so this works well for me, forming it on the baking sheet gives it that hard edged texture I love but I also try them in a muffin tin for 30min on 400. UPDATE: Ive been making this for years now and while trying to eat healthier I altered this recipe by using ground turkey and turkey kielbasa. I was worried at first it wouldnt come out as flavorful but its delicious!! GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I used deer hamburger meat and it was awesome. My kids ate it up. I only used half the cayanne and white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Compton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Thank you, reviewers, for ideas for substitutions and to Bill for the excellent original recipe. Made this last night and it was delicious. Mostly followed the recipe except for using 2% milk, "cajun blend" seasoning, added nutmeg, used mortar-ground cumin and cilantro seeds, oil instead of butter, and a mix of panko and oatmeal. After cooking down the vegetable and liquid mixture (what a good idea!) and letting it cool, I mixed the 2 beaten eggs directly into the vegetables before adding the whole thing to the meat mixture. Like others, my andouille was partly cooked, making it hard to crumble; I skinned as much as possible then chopped it with a hand blender (thanks for that idea, too). Mixed it all in a large bowl rather than in a baking dish, turned it out onto a cutting board to shape it into the flat loaf, then transferred it to the grill rack for my toaster over. The fat then dripped into the foil placed in the pan for easy cleanup. Let it sit for 15 minutes, then sliced it. Great texture, great flavor. It's still a 5-star recipe, even if you fiddle with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Everyone has LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This is the best meatloaf I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I took a chance and made this for the first time, on the reviews alone, for a new boy "friend" ... and we both loved it. It has the perfect heat/flavor combo, and was awesome served with mashed potatoes and green beans. I didn't change one thing about the recipe. Would definitely make again. My only warning -- you have to let the veggie mixture cool before finishing out the meatloaf and putting it in the oven, so you might want to plan some extra time for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was so good. I was nervous that my family would not like it because it is an untraditional recipe for meatloaf. I took the chance and I'm glad I did. Everyone loved it, even my daughter. The next day I made grilled sandwiches with it, which was even better. I couldn't find the sausage that the recipe called for so I just used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .5flipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States