Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have been making this for years, following the recipe exactly. My husband's family is from South Louisiana and they LOVE it. I use extra lean ground beef and have made this with both the andouille and even with Healthy Choice sausage and it comes out great either way. Bill knows his stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was delicious!!!! Definitely the best meatloaf I've ever tasted. My husband and kids really liked it too. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used regular whole milk and I was worried it'd be too spicy for my kids so I didn't add in the hot pepper sauce. Still delicious. Will be my new recipe now; I already had a good one but this brings so much more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is almost exactly like Chef Paul Prudhomme's Cajun Meatloaf recipe. Excellent and I make it all the time. Thanks for passing it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolkaDot
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My boyfriend gave this a 4, but I had to round up :) This was the best meatloaf I've ever had! I completely forgot to add the bayleaves, I used red pepper instead of green (personal preference), and I didn't have any sausage so I used 2lb beef. This meatloaf is so moist and spicy. It takes a long time to make, so I won't make it on week days anymore, but it's totally worth the time. We had it on sandwiches for breakfast the next day - delicious! Thanks so much, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this several years ago and lost the recipe. At the time I made it for my husband and his work crew who went nuts for it. So glad to have found it again as he has been asking for it over the years. While it is a lot of work, it's totally worth the effort. I didn't change a thing to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!!! My husband's 2nd favorite dinner is meatloaf and the poor guy... he's claimed to love my last 3 pitiful attempts at it. lol This one however is now a keeper! The whole thing was just perfect, from the texture, to the flavor, and even simplicity! I followed instructions to a T except I didnt have any cumin or white pepper, so i substituted more black pepper for each, added one diced jalapeno, and for bread crumbs used crushed seasoned croutons. For the top of the loaf I glazed on a mix of ketchup, worstershire(sp?) sauce,and brown sugar when I put the loaf in, and let it carmelize. Also, I didn't open the oven door no matter how badly I wanted to! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
My husband loved this meatloaf. I, however, found it to be on the spicy side. Next time I would use a teaspoon of hot sauce instead of a tablespoon. Also, I used Italian sausage instead of the recommended sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
My family love this recipe - it's the best meatloaf I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great Meatloaf my family LOVED it! I changed it a bit, used red bell peppers instead of green and used mild sausage and used tomato paste instead of ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mahagopian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My wife said this was the best meatloaf she ever had! I'm going to quit while I'm ahead and stick with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States