Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
In all fairness the spice composition of this recipie is awesome but we did not like the sausage flavor in this so next time I will will make it with extra ground beef and omit the sausage but the flavoring of the other spices was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I've made this a couple of times because I really enjoy Cajun food and this meatloaf is a winner. Tastes even better on the second day. Spicy, maybe a bit too much for children but great for people that enjoy some heat. Do use the andouille if possible, it really makes the dish. I have used both smoked and fresh andouille. When using smoked I strip off the casings and break it up using a food processor or blender. When using fresh I removed the casing and just mixed it into the meat. To lower the fat content ground turkey instead of beef works well. I found when using the smoked andouille there was less fat rendered. I reduced the amount of butter to 2 TBS. It takes longer than 6 minutes to cook down the veg but be patient. It is the vegatable mixture that makes this one so unique. To reduce the spice level I don't recommend using Tabasco but some other brand of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
the best...I dont even like meatloaf but will eat this one....my family loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Really wonderful! We loved it. Only thing we didn't do is put in bay leaves, and the store didn't have andouille so we used chorizo - which seemed to be a great substitute in case you end up in the same situation as us. It's very filling, so it'll go pretty far. I loved it with garlic potatoes. I plan on using some of the leftovers in burritos. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
We loved this, but it was too spicy for my mom, and boys 6 & 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was my first time making meatloaf and it turned out SUPER AWESOME! My fiance and I love spicy, so this was fantastic. I added minced jalapenos because I had it on hand and wanted to use it up. I couldn't find andouille sausage, so I used a spicy sausage from Sobey's. I will definitely be making this again as it was seriously amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jellybean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
The strong scent of the andouille really turned off both my wife and I. I 1/2 again-ed the recipe when I made it in hopes of having left-overs to take to work with me. I made this in three loaf pans, and when we decided we didn't care for it, I took it to work and everyone loved it. We have several very good cooks at work and I guess I was the only one who didn't care for the smell. I did like the taste and the "heat" was very good. I would make this recipe again substituting the sausage for something else. Will let you know when I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Swearingen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was fantastic! My husband inhaled in before letting me know that I could make it for him again any time I wanted. I drained off the grease after it was done baking, and it wasn't greasy at all. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have been making this for years, following the recipe exactly. My husband's family is from South Louisiana and they LOVE it. I use extra lean ground beef and have made this with both the andouille and even with Healthy Choice sausage and it comes out great either way. Bill knows his stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States