Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wow, great flavor, lots of heat! I made as is, probably would cut back on the hear but my hubby just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I used Bob Evan's spicy sausage instead of the andouille sausage. I also add extra hot sauce. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. I have been making it for years and it's a family favorite (and envied by everyone). I have made a few minor changes to reduce the heat a bit... I omit the hot pepper sauce, white pepper, and reduce the cayenne and black pepper to about a 1/4 tsp each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. Thanks for sharing Bill. The only thing I do differently is for one, I spray my baking dish with cooking spray. It makes it much easier to serve and clean. I put my andouille or chorizo (which ever one is on sale) in the food processor to grind it up, then mix in a bowl with ground TURKEY and the eggs, etc. It's so yummy. One of my husband's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
seriously the best meatloaf I've had. the last time I had meatloaf was years ago and I'm not a fan but this recipe is a keeper. Easy instructions, just follow as it is. I had garlic mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus with it - what hit for my fiance' and guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
In all fairness the spice composition of this recipie is awesome but we did not like the sausage flavor in this so next time I will will make it with extra ground beef and omit the sausage but the flavoring of the other spices was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I've made this a couple of times because I really enjoy Cajun food and this meatloaf is a winner. Tastes even better on the second day. Spicy, maybe a bit too much for children but great for people that enjoy some heat. Do use the andouille if possible, it really makes the dish. I have used both smoked and fresh andouille. When using smoked I strip off the casings and break it up using a food processor or blender. When using fresh I removed the casing and just mixed it into the meat. To lower the fat content ground turkey instead of beef works well. I found when using the smoked andouille there was less fat rendered. I reduced the amount of butter to 2 TBS. It takes longer than 6 minutes to cook down the veg but be patient. It is the vegatable mixture that makes this one so unique. To reduce the spice level I don't recommend using Tabasco but some other brand of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
the best...I dont even like meatloaf but will eat this one....my family loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Really wonderful! We loved it. Only thing we didn't do is put in bay leaves, and the store didn't have andouille so we used chorizo - which seemed to be a great substitute in case you end up in the same situation as us. It's very filling, so it'll go pretty far. I loved it with garlic potatoes. I plan on using some of the leftovers in burritos. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States