Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I made this tonight. My boyfriend and I agree its one of the best fish we have had!! The flavor was great!! We thought it would have a "burnt" taste, but we were wrong!! I only added half the amount of salt, and still found it way too salty! (maybe from the butter). Next time I am going to omit the salt all together! There definitly will be a next time!! This was DeLISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I sincerely hope that the nutritional values listed for this dish are wrong: 72 gram of fat! 806 calories per serving! Great recipe but not at that cost to my body...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was very good and it was fun to cook! I took the iron skillet on the outdoor grill route as my smoke alarm is very unforgiving. I would agree to take it easy on the salt. I also used olive oil instead of butter for dietary reasons. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I have been making this recipe for 3 years. I have young kids. I use tilapia. I only use 1/2c of butter. I melt it in the pan then stir in the seasoning -- reducing the hot pepper to ~1/4 tsp and no white pepper. I simply put the fillets on the mixture then flip it as it cooks once or twice. Even the youngest loves it (and this is the only way he will eat fish). Warning -- wear an old t-shirt. If it spashes it will not come out of clothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is good but is the predominant flavor of Cajun food just 'spicy'? It's quite similar to spicy 'rava (semolina) masala' fry Goan fish... But watch out for the smoke-- asthma-attack inducing as we learned at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I used Tilapia because my market was out of Snapper and it was deliciuos. I also used olive oil instead of butter. The blackening season was so yummy. I am going to make a large batch up to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
i from new orleans and this is close to the true blackened fish. however, i love spicy food, but this recipe is WAY too spicy! the original recipe calls for 1 tsp. black pep.,1/2 tsp. cayenne, and 1/2 tsp. white pepper...cooking it this way is still spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Company worthy! This is a great dry-rub that we will use on beef, pork, and chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was probably the best way I've prepared fish. i used talipia instead of snapper and I do also recommend a well ventilated area , the spices can make breathing a difficulty when the kitchen is smoking from searing the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloodyMaryMorning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
pretty tasty and very very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States