Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was very good. It was my first time making blackened fish and I was surprised how easy it was to make. I cut way back on the pepper, I only used 1/2 tsp cayenne total, and for my family it was perfect. I also cut back on the butter, and didn't put any on the fish after the final flip. I also used just a regular frying pan and while I did cook it on high I only waited about 2 minutes before putting the fish on. There was no smoke in my kitchen and the fish cooked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
If you're using hot paprika, you might want to cut down to 1 tbsp instead of 2. I used the full 2 tbsp and it was so hot, it was almost inedible. I had to mix with mayo to cool down the spice. It smelled sooo good when it was cooking though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Good but way too much salt. Could hardly eat it! Otherwise flavor and cooking method was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was absolutely amazing! I had some major delays in being about to serve my dinner and was REALLY worried that the fish would be ruined, (2 1/2 hours in the oven) but it wasn't. My husband said, "Oh my! I would pay for this!" Now that is a HIGH compliment coming from him.. hehe THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Used this recipe with amberjack (thought I had snapper on hand but was wrong). I didn't want the mess/smell in the kitchen, so we grilled it. For those who thought this was not flavorful enough, I wonder if they did not coat with the herb/spice mixture enough. I smothered the fillets in the spices, then we made a little tray out of foil for the grill and did just like the instructions say for the skillet. This was absolutely KILLER! Extremely flavorful and just the right combination of spices. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Never was a huge snapper fan but with this spicy blend and the old cast iron on the BBQ I will try again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Easy. Yummy. Fast. And if you don't use a cast iron skillet, make sure to heat the pan for a good long time so it's hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Perfect blend. I do recommend using a cast iron skillet as directed - my skillet didn't seem to get hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
De-lish! Very spicy and i used a smoked paprika, it added a nice campy kind of taste to the recipe. Thanks so much! it was great and I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GemJunkie
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States