Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Lea Eats
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used my cast iron skillet and it came out perfectly! I recommend using a butter/oil blend to fry, as butter has a lower browning temperature, and aids in the blackening process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Delish! You can get by with a lot less butter and spritz or two of cooking spray. Other than decreasing the amount of butter, I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Whew! This is SPICY, almost to the point of being inedible. I followed the recipe exactly (except I reduced the amount of butter). I would make it again, but would cut the peppers, the salt, and the paprika. I'll also reduce the amount of spice on each fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I have used the spice blend in this recipe for years - professionally as a caterer and at home. It is beyond awesome on wings, as a general veggie seasoning, steak, whatever. I usually cut the cayenne down to a quarter of the amount called for and make a triple batch to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I accidentally added a picture of myself instead of the dinner, but it was a great dish anyhow. I'd never cooked snapper before, nor had I ever blackened fish before. It got pretty smokey in the house at first, so if you have a powerful stove, you don't need to let the pan heat for 10 minutes on high-- it could start glowing red!! I had to let the fish cook a little longer than the directions instructed, but overall, this dish was, well, delicious! And everyone in the household loved it, anyone who thought this tasted plain must not have used the same ingredients, or an iron skillet, you must not have taste buds if you missed this great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMetal87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Awesome recipe. The flavor was great. To make it healthier, I omitted the butter and used olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Whoo hoo! Makes your mouth hot all over. Tip: don't close your lips over the fork, else your lips will burn hot. Super-easy Monday night meal, served with Southwestern-style frozen vegetable blend (corn, green & red peppers, onions, black beans) & of course, ice cold beer. Tip: if your whole fillet renders portions of different thicknesses, filet the thicker portions further, so all your serving pieces are of equal thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
OK.....I actually made this fish 3 times in one night. When you have teenagers you fix dinner in shifts. And then when people dropped in unannounced I just put more in the pan. Every single person said it was the best blackened fish they had ever had. I cut way back on the butter by just brushing it on the fish with a pastry brush and then dipped each filet in seasoning. Tasted wonderful. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Not bad, easy. Tastes like pepper which isn't my favorite, but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Wow!! Delis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygre

Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States