Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Really good recipe! I did not have a cast iron skillet, so I used my heavy non-stick caphalon pan. I squeezed lemon over it before and after cooking to enhance the flavor of snapper. This recipe reminded me of the blackened snapper I used to order from the restaurants when I visited the coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was a great dinner by itself (4 stars) but the next night when I made sandwiches with the left over fish on toasted kaiser buns, tomato, a little mayo and pieces of pineapple it was out of this world - 5 stars! A new family favorite. I enjoy cajun spicyness but I decreased the cayenne by 1/2 teaspoon and found the heat just right. We will definitely make this again but probably go straight to the sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We thought it was awesome but next time I will cut down on the cayenne. It was hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
It's a very quick and easy recipe. Be sure to use lots of butter! I did 3 mins on one side and 2 on the other. 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper is way too spicy for me, so for 2 pieces of fish I used 1/3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tough.to.be.tender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I am at a loss as to how "Lamcancook" could possibly have thought this had no flavor and needs salt. If you look at the ingredients (including the TB of salt!!!) you will see how unlikely that is. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lea Eats
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used my cast iron skillet and it came out perfectly! I recommend using a butter/oil blend to fry, as butter has a lower browning temperature, and aids in the blackening process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Delish! You can get by with a lot less butter and spritz or two of cooking spray. Other than decreasing the amount of butter, I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Whew! This is SPICY, almost to the point of being inedible. I followed the recipe exactly (except I reduced the amount of butter). I would make it again, but would cut the peppers, the salt, and the paprika. I'll also reduce the amount of spice on each fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I have used the spice blend in this recipe for years - professionally as a caterer and at home. It is beyond awesome on wings, as a general veggie seasoning, steak, whatever. I usually cut the cayenne down to a quarter of the amount called for and make a triple batch to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I accidentally added a picture of myself instead of the dinner, but it was a great dish anyhow. I'd never cooked snapper before, nor had I ever blackened fish before. It got pretty smokey in the house at first, so if you have a powerful stove, you don't need to let the pan heat for 10 minutes on high-- it could start glowing red!! I had to let the fish cook a little longer than the directions instructed, but overall, this dish was, well, delicious! And everyone in the household loved it, anyone who thought this tasted plain must not have used the same ingredients, or an iron skillet, you must not have taste buds if you missed this great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMetal87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States