Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I had a question, I am not sure if I am posting in the right place. I tried the blackened before it came out good but smokes up the place way to much, and winter coming around so opening up windows will not work. question can I blacken in the broiler? I am thinking this should be doable maybe seal the fish in thin foil so juices dont evaporate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe. I altered it just a little bit but it still came out perfect. Instead of paprika, cayenne and salt I used a couple tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning which has some of those ingredients minus the cayenne. Everything else I had and used. I just didn't want it too spicy for the kids. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have never cooked at such high temperatures on my stove before. Maybe it was my inexperience, but this was a disaster!!! I got my skillet nice and hot on a high setting like the recipe called for, expecting to make a delicious dinner for my husband and as soon as the fish hit the skillet, it went up in flames! Cajun Style Blackened Snapper fail! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great cajun spices! I too decreased the cayenne (1/2 tsp), omitted white pepper and only used 1/2 tsp of salt. Just put the fillets on a baking pan, drizzled with olive oil and rubbed the spices all over the top. Broiled for about 15 mins until the fish flaked. Very good and healthy - there's no need for all that butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I actually used Old bay seasoning, works fine as well. Clarfying the butter will allow it to reach a hotter temp, and yes this WILL smoke up the house a bit. I got a big lung full of the first fillet and couldnt stop coughing for about 5 minutes. hah, everyone loved it, pretty quick and easy. set the rice cooker and blacken some fish. all said and done 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good! I did have some trouble keeping the seasoning on, but it was still so flavorful! My first time cooking red snapper and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Keeping Hubs' sensitive innards in mind, I cut back significantly on the cayenne pepper, to only 1/2 tsp., which worked out well. I used smoked paprika, but I'm sure sweet paprika would be equally as good. Not wanting the odor, smoke and grease in the house, we do use the cast iron pan, but we get it screamin' hot on the outdoor charcoal grill. What was different for me with this recipe was the seasoning. I use one consistently that we particularly enjoy, but we were pleased with this for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
LOVED IT!!! Me and my hubs arent fish ppl-but this turned out AMAZING-even my boys ate it. changed up 2nd time around a little spicy-the spices overpowered the fish; took out 1/2 the cyanne took out 1/4 the peppers I had 2 thick fillets of snapper so I broiled them (with the spices on) first for a bit, got them 1/2 way cooked then stuck them in the skillet to blacken them. SO GOOD-thank you for the recipe-my first attempt at making fish was a total success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tasty and easy to put together, but no need to use 1.5 cups of melted butter. Melt 3/4 of a cup in a shallow bowl or plate and use them to dredge the fish through. Most of it ends up staying on the plate, and there's plenty left to put over the fish whille it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeneathArthursSeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is amazing! I bought 2 lbs of snapper (4 fillets), but I ran out of the dry mix. Next time, I'll just double the recipe. I didn't have onion or garlic powder, so I had to use a dry onion soup mix and it came out fantastically :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States