Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
This recipe was fabulous! I cooked it on the grill, instead of in a skillet and served it on a bed of linguine in a garlic butter sauce. The subtlty of the linguine balanced well with the boldness of the snapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I have been looking for a seasoning mix to use for blackened fish and chicken. This was really easy and the snapper was great! I also put the spice mix in my steamed cauliflower and it was wonderful, too. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was pretty good. I used it on fresh Tilapia fillets since I couldn't find red snapper. Using a cast iron skillet works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I cooked this tonight. My husband and I were not pleased with it. It tasted plain, didn't have any flavor, except burn taste. I would recommend you to sprinkle some salt while the fish still hot from the skillet. It might taste better with added salt. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Keeping Hubs' sensitive innards in mind, I cut back significantly on the cayenne pepper, to only 1/2 tsp., which worked out well. I used smoked paprika, but I'm sure sweet paprika would be equally as good. Not wanting the odor, smoke and grease in the house, we do use the cast iron pan, but we get it screamin' hot on the outdoor charcoal grill. What was different for me with this recipe was the seasoning. I use one consistently that we particularly enjoy, but we were pleased with this for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe is super fast and easy! My husband and I loved the wonderful flavor. The only downside is that it smokes- a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
It was excellent!! My husband doesn't really like fish, but he raves about this recipe. We're from and still live in New Orleans, so we're used to spice. I must say that this recipe has a little too much pepper, but other than that, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Little to spicy, lessen cayyene pepper for perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Wife was sick, so I had to cook... This was easy and it turned out great!!! Carefull it'll smoke up the house a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Next time I wont be quite so generous with the sprinkling of the spices, it was HOT! It was absolutely DELICIOUS though!!!!!!!!!!! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States