Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was great, with a few modifications: no oregeno, 1/2 tsp. black, white, and cayenne pepper, 1 tsp Lawry's seasoned salt, extra light extra virgin olive oil instead of butter. I love spicy food and with these modifications, the recipe was still spicy but without overpowering the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Really good recipe. Always, always cook this type of Cajun food outside. When you buy Cajun seasoning at the store, there is usually a warning on it about the smoke that will come from it while it is cooking. The smoke can be harmful to your health as well as to any pet birds in your home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaandLarry Blevins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Great meal - the method of cooking worked perfectly. But don't mess with all those different spices; just use Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning. Also I used peanut oil instead of butter and it worked great. (dairy allergy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hakimah
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Delicious! This is such a great and different way to cook fish. I don't like spicy food so I omitted the cayenne pepper and only did one tablespoon of paprika. Will make this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hakimah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
My husband asks for this once a week! He loved it! I skipped the butter and just used olive oil and a regular non stick though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I made this tonight. My boyfriend and I agree its one of the best fish we have had!! The flavor was great!! We thought it would have a "burnt" taste, but we were wrong!! I only added half the amount of salt, and still found it way too salty! (maybe from the butter). Next time I am going to omit the salt all together! There definitly will be a next time!! This was DeLISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I sincerely hope that the nutritional values listed for this dish are wrong: 72 gram of fat! 806 calories per serving! Great recipe but not at that cost to my body...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justplainme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was very good and it was fun to cook! I took the iron skillet on the outdoor grill route as my smoke alarm is very unforgiving. I would agree to take it easy on the salt. I also used olive oil instead of butter for dietary reasons. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I have been making this recipe for 3 years. I have young kids. I use tilapia. I only use 1/2c of butter. I melt it in the pan then stir in the seasoning -- reducing the hot pepper to ~1/4 tsp and no white pepper. I simply put the fillets on the mixture then flip it as it cooks once or twice. Even the youngest loves it (and this is the only way he will eat fish). Warning -- wear an old t-shirt. If it spashes it will not come out of clothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is good but is the predominant flavor of Cajun food just 'spicy'? It's quite similar to spicy 'rava (semolina) masala' fry Goan fish... But watch out for the smoke-- asthma-attack inducing as we learned at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States