Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Great meal - the method of cooking worked perfectly. But don't mess with all those different spices; just use Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning. Also I used peanut oil instead of butter and it worked great. (dairy allergy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hakimah
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Delicious! This is such a great and different way to cook fish. I don't like spicy food so I omitted the cayenne pepper and only did one tablespoon of paprika. Will make this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hakimah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
My husband asks for this once a week! He loved it! I skipped the butter and just used olive oil and a regular non stick though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I made this tonight. My boyfriend and I agree its one of the best fish we have had!! The flavor was great!! We thought it would have a "burnt" taste, but we were wrong!! I only added half the amount of salt, and still found it way too salty! (maybe from the butter). Next time I am going to omit the salt all together! There definitly will be a next time!! This was DeLISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I sincerely hope that the nutritional values listed for this dish are wrong: 72 gram of fat! 806 calories per serving! Great recipe but not at that cost to my body...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was very good and it was fun to cook! I took the iron skillet on the outdoor grill route as my smoke alarm is very unforgiving. I would agree to take it easy on the salt. I also used olive oil instead of butter for dietary reasons. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I have been making this recipe for 3 years. I have young kids. I use tilapia. I only use 1/2c of butter. I melt it in the pan then stir in the seasoning -- reducing the hot pepper to ~1/4 tsp and no white pepper. I simply put the fillets on the mixture then flip it as it cooks once or twice. Even the youngest loves it (and this is the only way he will eat fish). Warning -- wear an old t-shirt. If it spashes it will not come out of clothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is good but is the predominant flavor of Cajun food just 'spicy'? It's quite similar to spicy 'rava (semolina) masala' fry Goan fish... But watch out for the smoke-- asthma-attack inducing as we learned at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I used Tilapia because my market was out of Snapper and it was deliciuos. I also used olive oil instead of butter. The blackening season was so yummy. I am going to make a large batch up to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
i from new orleans and this is close to the true blackened fish. however, i love spicy food, but this recipe is WAY too spicy! the original recipe calls for 1 tsp. black pep.,1/2 tsp. cayenne, and 1/2 tsp. white pepper...cooking it this way is still spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States