Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tasty and easy to put together, but no need to use 1.5 cups of melted butter. Melt 3/4 of a cup in a shallow bowl or plate and use them to dredge the fish through. Most of it ends up staying on the plate, and there's plenty left to put over the fish whille it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeneathArthursSeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is amazing! I bought 2 lbs of snapper (4 fillets), but I ran out of the dry mix. Next time, I'll just double the recipe. I didn't have onion or garlic powder, so I had to use a dry onion soup mix and it came out fantastically :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Really good recipe! I did not have a cast iron skillet, so I used my heavy non-stick caphalon pan. I squeezed lemon over it before and after cooking to enhance the flavor of snapper. This recipe reminded me of the blackened snapper I used to order from the restaurants when I visited the coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was a great dinner by itself (4 stars) but the next night when I made sandwiches with the left over fish on toasted kaiser buns, tomato, a little mayo and pieces of pineapple it was out of this world - 5 stars! A new family favorite. I enjoy cajun spicyness but I decreased the cayenne by 1/2 teaspoon and found the heat just right. We will definitely make this again but probably go straight to the sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We thought it was awesome but next time I will cut down on the cayenne. It was hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
It's a very quick and easy recipe. Be sure to use lots of butter! I did 3 mins on one side and 2 on the other. 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper is way too spicy for me, so for 2 pieces of fish I used 1/3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tough.to.be.tender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I am at a loss as to how "Lamcancook" could possibly have thought this had no flavor and needs salt. If you look at the ingredients (including the TB of salt!!!) you will see how unlikely that is. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lea Eats
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used my cast iron skillet and it came out perfectly! I recommend using a butter/oil blend to fry, as butter has a lower browning temperature, and aids in the blackening process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Delish! You can get by with a lot less butter and spritz or two of cooking spray. Other than decreasing the amount of butter, I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States