Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I've never been very successful at blackening fish until I came across this recipe. The only thing I changed was using rockfish (will try it with salmon & halibut next time), it was excellent, spicy with that distinct flavor that you can only achieve from blackening. It didn't smoke up as bad as I anticipated but my family could feel the "pepper" in their throats while I was cooking so make sure to open up the windows!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Excellent. I used a heavy-bottomed non-stick skillet and it worked great. The spices adhered to the fish, and the amount of heat was perfect for us. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This recipe was a nice change for a fish dish. We're kind of weenies when it comes to spicy dishes, so I cut the cayenne pepper in half and added some Old Bay seasoning, and it was wonderful! My husband likes it and he rarely eats spicy food. Great recipe and thanks for sharing- will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goldthwaite, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Excellent recipe, very simple too. Just one bit of warning, though. When you fist place the fish into the pan, DO NOT hang your face directly over the pan and inhale. I spent the next three minutes coughing and racing to open the kitchen door and turn the AC onto high to vent the kitchen! This recipe DOES make smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
For the past 15 years three buddies and I have been going to Alaska. We always bring home anywhere from 100 to 250 pounds of halibut. I use this seasoning on the halibut. Cook on each side for about three minutes as halibut dries out very quickly. Outstanding! I make up packets of the seasoning and keep it handy for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Very good. However, I would caution agains getting the cast iron skillet too hot. When I added the butter, I got some flames. And, man, the smoke is crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
WHOOO! I love spicy food, but this was too much for me. I did like the background flavor, but it was overwhelmed by heat. We'll make it again, but cut the cayenne and pepper amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
OUTSTANDING,GREAT! I followed the other reviews and cooked this outside on my electric burner to eliminate the smoke.I used catfish and tapila-I could not make it into the house cause my hubsand was eating the fish as I was taking it out of the cast iron skillet. Minor adj:added creole spices and squeeze fresh lemon juice as it was cooking. Pls note:Very SPICY I reduced the amount of cayenne,white and black pepper to suit my 4yr old she enjoyed this too - 5plus stars thks Sandra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made this for New Years Eve, and the seasoning tasted great. I left out the cayenne, and the fish still had a good kick. I don't know if I'll make it again though...for some reason my red snapper got tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCKORNDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This must be good. My wife hates fish but she really liked this one. I toned it down on the pepper side for my family. It still had a pretty good kick regardless though(to them). This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States