Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Using some of the suggestions from other reviewers, I cubed the sweet potatoes and put them in a large ziplock plastic bag. Then I added the olive oil, using about 4 teaspoons, and rolled the potatoes around to coat before adding the spices. A couple of quick shakes of the bag and they were coated to perfection. I microwaved this dish, using 1/3 of the recommended cooking time. We loved the results! The spice list struck us as a similar to Emeril's Essence so I'll probably fool around with that plus the brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Like others, I left the skin on and cut the potatoes into thick fries. The recipe deserves a high rating, but the title "Cajun" is misleading-- the potatoes are fragrant and very yummy, but they are not even as spicy as "hot fries". I really enjoy the tastes that this recipe yields, but if you want them spicy, add ALOT of cayenne or some other Cajun spices. This goes very well with Cajun Red Bean and Rice Soup, and it is just excellent when paired with the Stir Fried Kale recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Very tasty and different way to enjoy sweet potatoes! I cut them into thick "french-fry" shapes (skins on) and season & shake them in a zip-up bag w/ 1 tbsp. olive oil. Left in the fridge while I am work & then baked (or grilled or broiled). Love them! Good re-heated, too! Try these...so much better for you than regular potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I actually cut these down to french fry shapes and tossed in oil and then dashed spices over...incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
We loved these! I cut the potatoes into wedges like other reviewers suggested, tossed in the oil then spices. I baked them for about 50 min. and they were done. Very tasty but not crispy like I thought they might be based on the comparison to fries in other reviews. Next time I'll probably just cut potatoes in half like the recipe says. I will make many more times and know better what to expect now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I also chopped into cubes, and added the oil and spices in a bag and shook it all up. The only thing is that I should have cooked for 40-50 min, not one hour. Delicious though, will definately do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This works! I just had this for lunch, but it would be a terrific side dish with chicken or turkey entrees. The recipe calls for peeling and cubing the potatoes in the ingredients portion, but slicing lengthwise in the instructions. I did not peel or cube, but followed the written instructions. The only change I made was before eating, to slit it and add a pat of butter and a sprinkle of salt. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Fantastic...and I thought I didn't like sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
A keeper and a great new way to cooked sweet potatoes! I didn't change a thing to the recipe -only took the advice of one reviewer and cut the potatoes into bite size pieces and used the shake method of putting oil in a baggie first, greasing up the potatoes and adding the spices and shook some more. I actually did that early in the day and put the baggie into the frige and it was ready to pop in the oven with the rest of my meal. It cooked in about 40 min. since the potatoes were small. Remember to move them around while baking - I didn't and I had to toss some since a few were charred on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I put the potatos in foil and cooked them on the grille. My whole family enjoyed them. The only flavor I will leave out next time is the rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States