Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very tasty! The spice mixture is a nice compliment to the sweetness of the sweet Potato. I cubed mine and as suggested by other cooks, I put all ingredients into a baggie and gave it a little shake. These do not take a whole hour to cook if you cube them, more like 40 minutes at 375. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Say-Rah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eufaula, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I took some advice left by others and cubed the potatoes. I also added more brown sugar, about a half tblsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheltonyoung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I now love sweet potatoes!! Thank you I now have found another side dish and these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSugar27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My daughter sent me this recipe, made spices, and cut like fries then cubed, cooked 400 for 40 min, turned out lovely, used as an appetizer with toothpicks, they stay hot for a long time and are great for same. The lady who said they were tasteless must have used very old herbs and spices...... They were a fantastic, will definitely stay on the menu...... The party loved them......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was really good! A great alternative to the traditional sweet potato recipes that call for additional sweetness. A really excellent side (or main dish for those who don't eat meat). I cubed the potatoes like many others did and tossed them in a large ziploc with the seasonings. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm not sure why everyone was so excited about this recipe. I love sweet potatoes and Cajun-flavors, so I thought this would be a winner, but it was a huge disappointment. I cubed the potatoes and used the plastic-bag method everyone suggested, but while the potatoes were cooked perfectly, the flavor was so bland that my entire family asked if I'd actually seasoned them. I suppose if you like a very subtle flavor these would be fine, but I would hardly call them Cajun-Style. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
SOOOOOO good! I doubled the recipe for 4 people and it came out about right. I made as directed, aside from omitting the paprika because I had none and chose to chop the taters into cubes. Loved the sweet & spicy combo - everyone at the table commented on how good they were. Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were really good! I didn't have the herbs, so I only used the spices and brown sugar. I cut 4 large sweet potatoes into chunks, skins on, and tossed in a zipper baggie with oil. Then I added the spices and tossed again. I baked them at 400 for about 40 minutes. We loved the sweet and spicy flavors together. My tongue doesn't like "hot" as well as my family does, but even I didn't mind the tingle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were definitely tasty, but they came out mushy and not crisp. We enjoyed them, but they could have had a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States