Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm not sure why everyone was so excited about this recipe. I love sweet potatoes and Cajun-flavors, so I thought this would be a winner, but it was a huge disappointment. I cubed the potatoes and used the plastic-bag method everyone suggested, but while the potatoes were cooked perfectly, the flavor was so bland that my entire family asked if I'd actually seasoned them. I suppose if you like a very subtle flavor these would be fine, but I would hardly call them Cajun-Style. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
SOOOOOO good! I doubled the recipe for 4 people and it came out about right. I made as directed, aside from omitting the paprika because I had none and chose to chop the taters into cubes. Loved the sweet & spicy combo - everyone at the table commented on how good they were. Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were really good! I didn't have the herbs, so I only used the spices and brown sugar. I cut 4 large sweet potatoes into chunks, skins on, and tossed in a zipper baggie with oil. Then I added the spices and tossed again. I baked them at 400 for about 40 minutes. We loved the sweet and spicy flavors together. My tongue doesn't like "hot" as well as my family does, but even I didn't mind the tingle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were definitely tasty, but they came out mushy and not crisp. We enjoyed them, but they could have had a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made these as baked sweet potato fries and we had them with sour cream dip - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I really enjoyed these. I cubed them and baked them at 400 for about 35 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was such a nice change from the sweet potato souffle i make at Thanksgiving! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
too spicy for the kiddos, but good change of pace for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was very good! Roasting is my favorite way to prepare sweet potatoes & I am always looking for different spice blends. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Wow these are pretty good! About the only thing I will do different next time is a little less brown sugar and more heat! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States