Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by hazeleyes8503
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made some adjustments, I paired these as a side to go with the Autumn Ham Steak recipe on this site... I used two sweet potatoes and one yam- cut into bite sized cubes, coated with olive oil; and tossed with a tablespoon each of Cajun Seasoning, and brown sugar, and one teaspoon of Rosemary. Placed in the oven at 375, baked until tender for about twenty to thirty minutes (just check by poking with a fork until they're tender enough for your liking). Great sweet&spicy side to go with the ham steak recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazeleyes8503

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I've made these quite a few times since finding this delicious way of preparing sweet potatoes! Substituted honey for the brown sugar (off sugar these days) and it was still delicious. I usually like to play with spices but did try this one as directed. The blend of the flavors is terrific! Fun way to serve a healthy potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I replaced the olive oil with butter, but other than that... I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great recipe.... and low cal. too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was great! I used SMOKED paprika and added a 1/4t salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
cubed the potatoes and used 4 tsp oil (more surface on the pan) and doubled spices (again, more surface to cover). Otherwise fixed recipe as written. Quite spicy, might tone down spices next time. Also, potatoes were cooked thoroughly at 40 minutes, but "limp" - I would suggest a minute or two under the broiler at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
An absolutely delicious and ridiculously easy recipe to prepare. I loved the blend of spices used here. I did add a ½ tsp of salt to balance the sweetness. I also cubed the sweet potato and tossed it to coat with the spices and 1 Tbs olive oil. Because of this, baking time was adjusted to 45 minutes. This is absolutely wonderful for sweet potato fans and highly nutritious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've been trying to incorporate more sweet potatoes into my diet because of their nutritional value. This recipe will definitely become a regular in my "repertoire"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Really good - do not bake with anything else if you want it crispy. if baked with a meat dish, they don't get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Loved it! Used 2 tsp. home made Cajun spice (recipe from this site, of course). And about 1 tsp. unrefined coconut sugar. Cut the potatoes into large fries, placed them in large bowl, drizzled with the olive oil, tossed, added spices, and tossed again. Then baked at 350 for about 40 min, turning a few times. We will def keep this recipe. VERY flavorful! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States