Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
These are the greatest! I had a large sweet potato and decided to cut it in half across and then cut each half lenghtwise. These halves I cut into 3 wedges. After mixing seasonings I put into zip lock bag. Each wedge was rolled all over with oil and then dropped in bag. Even though the oven was being used at a lower temp, these baked just fine. These are great hot or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
The flavor is terrific. I made it last night and I've already passed the recipe on to several people. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I cut the sweet potatos into wedges (left the skins on) - put the spice mixture onto a flat plate - then brushed the olive oil and dipped the non-skin sides. I also added a lot more brown sugar and some cayenne. Turned out nice and crispy! A big hit with my husband and in-laws. I'm making these today for the 4th of July family BBQ, by request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I love sweet potatoes and this is a nice savory recipe for them. Next time I will cut back on the rosemary just for personal preferences. I am also going to try these with a cajun spice recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This recipe was very good - quite a different flavor for a sweet potato. I used Mrs. Dash extra spicy instead of making the spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
These were really good. Not the best sweet potato i have ever eaten, but a close second. Will make these again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Very tasty and different way to enjoy sweet potatoes! I cut them into thick "french-fry" shapes (skins on) and season & shake them in a zip-up bag w/ 1 tbsp. olive oil. Left in the fridge while I am work & then baked (or grilled or broiled). Love them! Good re-heated, too! Try these...so much better for you than regular potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I actually cut these down to french fry shapes and tossed in oil and then dashed spices over...incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
We loved these! I cut the potatoes into wedges like other reviewers suggested, tossed in the oil then spices. I baked them for about 50 min. and they were done. Very tasty but not crispy like I thought they might be based on the comparison to fries in other reviews. Next time I'll probably just cut potatoes in half like the recipe says. I will make many more times and know better what to expect now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I also chopped into cubes, and added the oil and spices in a bag and shook it all up. The only thing is that I should have cooked for 40-50 min, not one hour. Delicious though, will definately do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States