Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Yep, everyone's right! This is delicious. I cut the sweet potatoes into wedges, slightly larger than french fries and baked them for 25 minutes. I also sprinkled them with salt just after baking, which helped to bring out the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Made the recipe "as is" and had these along with a turkey breast and biscuits. I have to agree with many other reviewers that these are a great alternative to the standard baked sweet potato with some butter and cinnamon on it. We did cube the potato as many others suggested. These potatoes were great. Soft in teh center, just a hint of crunchy on the edges and great flavoring. We will add this to our standard array of side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Absolute yumminess and a very affordable side dish. I ate them with ketchup - my family ate them plain. My son could not stop eating them and though there was a half pan left over after meal time, they were gone before bedtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very tasty! The spice mixture is a nice compliment to the sweetness of the sweet Potato. I cubed mine and as suggested by other cooks, I put all ingredients into a baggie and gave it a little shake. These do not take a whole hour to cook if you cube them, more like 40 minutes at 375. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Say-Rah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eufaula, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I took some advice left by others and cubed the potatoes. I also added more brown sugar, about a half tblsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheltonyoung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I now love sweet potatoes!! Thank you I now have found another side dish and these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSugar27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My daughter sent me this recipe, made spices, and cut like fries then cubed, cooked 400 for 40 min, turned out lovely, used as an appetizer with toothpicks, they stay hot for a long time and are great for same. The lady who said they were tasteless must have used very old herbs and spices...... They were a fantastic, will definitely stay on the menu...... The party loved them......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was really good! A great alternative to the traditional sweet potato recipes that call for additional sweetness. A really excellent side (or main dish for those who don't eat meat). I cubed the potatoes like many others did and tossed them in a large ziploc with the seasonings. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm not sure why everyone was so excited about this recipe. I love sweet potatoes and Cajun-flavors, so I thought this would be a winner, but it was a huge disappointment. I cubed the potatoes and used the plastic-bag method everyone suggested, but while the potatoes were cooked perfectly, the flavor was so bland that my entire family asked if I'd actually seasoned them. I suppose if you like a very subtle flavor these would be fine, but I would hardly call them Cajun-Style. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States