Cajun Spice Seasoning Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
WAY too much Salt! I had to remake it using oregano and thyme, cutting the salt from 3/4 cup (!) to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
A good basic Cajun Seasoning mix. I usually make about one third of this at a time, and then I omit 2 Tbsp. of the salt. I also kick it up a bit by adding a tsp. each of dried basil, chili powder and a pinch or two of thyme. Thanks for giving me my starting point, Debbie. We love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This was the best. When I bought the spices, I saved the little plastic bottles, and used as containers to put the spice I made into them. I took the labels off, and added my own. They made great gifts. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This makes a perfect gift. Don't let the amount of salt fool you - when you cook with it, it's not that prominent. Do, however, avoid tasting it from a spoon - your tongue will feel it for hours! Thanks so much. We used it on cheezy potatoes - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I really like this seasoning on chicken and pork. I did cut the salt about in half, but that is because I don't like things very salty. With 1/4 cup olive oil, makes a great marinade. It was a little spicy for my kids, but hubby & I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I made this without the salt. It is a tasty mix but you don't need to use a lot. If you don't intend to use it often, try making half a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This was fun and easy to make - made some for myself instead of as a gift. Very tasty- so far I've used it on chicken breast and on salmon and my husband raved. Probably too spicy for children, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I used this to season my chicken last night and because I didn't want to have a little chicken with my salt, I cut back on the salt to two tablespoons. We could still taste it, so I can't even imagine using three quarters of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is great! I ommit the salt and just add some to taste to whatever i'm making. this goes really well on cut-up sweet potatoes baked until crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This was a great gift, it was perfect for me to add this to my Christmas goodie gifts for people who don't really eat cookies and candy. I made it in mason jars and attached a label. They loved it. I also kept some for myself, it's wonderful on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States