Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
made this last night to rub on some chicken - had to leave out the onion powder because I didn't have any, and instead of measuring I just eyeballed it... but the flavor was very good and my husband was impresssed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this last night to use in Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi and while I wasn't thrilled with how the fish came out, I was sold on this spice mix. I make all my own mixes and had everything needed for this. It has such bold flavors, we loved it. I did use a heavy hand with the cayenne and red pepper flakes, but we like heat. I'm planning to use it later this week in the egg wash for Crispy Fried Fish, also on this site. I can think of so many uses for this blend. It's a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
If you're really concerned about salt content, I recommend starting with Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy, and adding black pepper and additional paprika. Play with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I just made this to use in a Jambalaya recipe and it worked great! I made it as written except I didn't add the red pepper flakes...the cayenne was enough spice for me! This was perfect...the Jambalaya had just the right amount of heat with this spice mix! Not too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I agree with others, you can skip the salt. Great spice mix. tks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Yum & easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
First and foremost, I recommend using less salt. And instead of table salt, use sea salt. This is a standard cajun seasoning mix, and it is normal to go heavy on the salt, but unless you only use a very small amount, I find that the salt becomes pretty dominating pretty quickly. While this is a good and fairly standard cajun seasoning mix, I frequently experiment with my own mix. I usually add some chili powder, or sometimes chipolte, habanro or even ghost pepper chili powder and also frequently add more cayenne and garlic and about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Sometimes I skip thyme, rosemary and red pepper flakes. Lately, in addition to thyme and oregano, I have been adding Rosemary as well which gives it a wonderful flavor! In the future, I will add Marjoram and/or Parsley but I don't currently have any to try right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Just the average spice mix....nothing grand about it. Thanks for sharing the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a very good spice mix. The only changes I made were to only add 1 tsp of salt and cut down the amount of cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp. I used this in Jambalaya, but I think it would be yummy on grilled steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Good mix. We doctored it only slightly (added more salt and didn't have cayenne so we used a Turkish seasonings blend) We added the red flakes since we both like a kick. Reminds me of crawfish, so I think that's a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States