Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This rub was called Rustic Rub and it came from a book called Louisiana Real and Rustic by Emeril Lagasse. A take on his BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Excellent! My husband said I should make a bucket of it and put it on everything I cook. So far I've used it on chicken and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taradowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manasquan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I call it very hot. I mixed it with lime juice and oil and marinated shrimp in it. It was a little too hot for me but great flavor. I'll just tone it down a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wanting to make cajun potatoes on day my daughter realized we were out of the commercial jar of Cajun seasoning we had on hand. Not to be defeated by my lack of stock, I searched this sight for a spice mix. Lo and behold, this is the one for us. We had all the ingredients in the cupboard. I give it five stars just because the recipe is so easy to put together. My daughter who is learning the joy of putting ingredients together to make something better than take away was very impressed with the ease and the taste as well. Thank you, Bobbie Jean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I have used this splice blend several times. It is wonderful. I added 2 TB brown sugar and used this as a rub for ribs smoked with cherry and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a welcome mix. My wife finds the commercial Cajun blends far too hot. This blend is the perfect level of heat for her and I like the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
DELICIOUS and so easy to mix up! I omitted the pepper flakes, b/c I didn't want it too spicy, and it was perfect for us. I will be using this again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Excellent, used it in jambalaya and as a rub for grilled meats. We like it spicy so the red pepper flakes were a must for us. I double it and keep it in a small jar so I have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
LOVE this recipe exactly as written. I just whipped this up for the Tex-Mex Burger with Cajun Mayo on allrecipes. I was in a hurry and forgot to read the other reviews so was worried mixture was going to be oversalty. It is perfect! But as others mentioned, this is great to be able to control how much salt you want. Every ingredient is a perfect compliment to the others. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I make most of my own spice blends and I find that this is as good or better than any of the blends on the supermarket shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marked Tree, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States