Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
So i'm finally going to rate this one... I think i've used it 30 times... I now make a sandwich bag full of it to keep on hand. I do cut the salt in half because my family and I have never been too big on salt. Anyways, this recipe its awesome for those nights when you forget to plan ahead! I use this rubbed on chicken or fish. But our favorite is cajun chicken on top of salad with blue cheese dressing! Sometimes I'll also rub it on the chicken then slather with some bbq sauce for extra spicy bbq chicken. Yum. Fyi, just go ahead and quadruple this recipe, it comes in handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My family loves this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I am only 13 and I am pretty proud of myself. I went with a more simple dish, I just mixed the seasoning with flour and fried chicken breasts. goes GREAT with sweet baby rays barbeque sauce! although I have to admit, it turned out pretty salty so for future references..USE 1 TEASPOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I've used this recipe twice. Once on country spare ribs and the second time on skirt steak. Wow! The meat was so juicy and succulent I couldn't stop eating. I'm saving this recipe. I used the red pepper in the mixture and even though it gives an extra little kick, it's not too much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Excellent! Went a little light on the salt because the recipe I intended to use this mix in called for some salt. I would rather have not enough salt and add some than to have too much. Wonderful mix! It's a keeper. Thanks Bobbie Jean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This recipe is my "go to" for a cajun spice. You can adjust it to your liking. It's fabulous! Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This rub was called Rustic Rub and it came from a book called Louisiana Real and Rustic by Emeril Lagasse. A take on his BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Excellent! My husband said I should make a bucket of it and put it on everything I cook. So far I've used it on chicken and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taradowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manasquan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I call it very hot. I mixed it with lime juice and oil and marinated shrimp in it. It was a little too hot for me but great flavor. I'll just tone it down a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wanting to make cajun potatoes on day my daughter realized we were out of the commercial jar of Cajun seasoning we had on hand. Not to be defeated by my lack of stock, I searched this sight for a spice mix. Lo and behold, this is the one for us. We had all the ingredients in the cupboard. I give it five stars just because the recipe is so easy to put together. My daughter who is learning the joy of putting ingredients together to make something better than take away was very impressed with the ease and the taste as well. Thank you, Bobbie Jean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States