Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. I use it to dry rub everything! We cut down the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp for the kids. (Can always add more!) I like to can pork when it's on sale. I'll cube it and use this dry rub and some liquid smoke and bake in a covered pan. Then I pressure can it. It comes out just like pulled pork! You can do the same thing with this recipe by putting this dry rub on cubed pork with a little liquid smoke in a slow cooker all day. Awesome faux pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This "Cajun Spice Mix" was good. I used it to season oven-fried potatoes. I have never had anything "Cajun" before, so I had no expectations and nothing to compare it to. Even with the hot pepper flakes, I didn't find it especially spicy relative to the spicy food that my husband and I typically eat, but I am thinking that without the hot pepper flakes it would be about the right level of spiciness for my birth family. Thank you Bobbie Jean for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Used this with Easy and Fast Cajun Chicken Caesar Salad and mix came out great. Will def keep some on hand. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for contributing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Perfect substitute! I just made a recipe of Cajun Sausage Pasta tonight which called for Cajun Seasoning (which I don't have) and I used this recipe and the dish was delicious!!! I didn't add the red pepper flakes because my kids probably wouldn't eat it and I did slightly less cayenne for the same reason and it had JUST enough bite for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Very good and easy. I left out the onion powder because I'm out, and substituted ground chipotle pepper for cayenne. Added an extra "smokey" taste I was looking for. I'll make it again, and add the onion powder next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I am on a salt restricted diet and have had to give up many many foods. Thank you for putting this recipe up so I can leave out the salt and enjoy the flavors again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
So i'm finally going to rate this one... I think i've used it 30 times... I now make a sandwich bag full of it to keep on hand. I do cut the salt in half because my family and I have never been too big on salt. Anyways, this recipe its awesome for those nights when you forget to plan ahead! I use this rubbed on chicken or fish. But our favorite is cajun chicken on top of salad with blue cheese dressing! Sometimes I'll also rub it on the chicken then slather with some bbq sauce for extra spicy bbq chicken. Yum. Fyi, just go ahead and quadruple this recipe, it comes in handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My family loves this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I am only 13 and I am pretty proud of myself. I went with a more simple dish, I just mixed the seasoning with flour and fried chicken breasts. goes GREAT with sweet baby rays barbeque sauce! although I have to admit, it turned out pretty salty so for future references..USE 1 TEASPOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States