Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
this cajun spice is great! i used 1 tsp of salt instead of 2. i've made thisa few times now, its easy to mixup the ingredients with different spices i just keep the recipe amount of garlic powder, black pepper, onion powder, cayenne and red pepper flakes. it's great on potatoes, eggs, popcorn and tofu! i will always keep this spice mix of some variation on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I particularly liked this recipe because it's easy, I had all the ingredients, and it is wonderful! And you can control the heat. I'll NEVER buy expensive Cajun spice mixtures again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very nice flavor! I put some on chicken wings and baked them until they were sticky. Really good stuff! I liked the fact that the ingredients were things that you would normally keep on hand; nothing fancy. Will use this spice mix alot from now on. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Super, Bobbie Jean. Prezactly what I wanted. And thanks to reviewers who cautioned about salt. I agree, this mix does not require that much salt. I may play with this a bit to suit my taste, but, I don't know that I can improve it. Just a great mix that can be used as a rub, or used after cooking. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We had put this on some tilapia and grilled the fish. Served with a mango salsa. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Yum! This recipe was easy to mix up using ingredients I already had on hand. This was my first time cooking with Cajun spice and I really liked it. I used it to make red beans and rice didn't think it was too salty, but I used all non-salt ingredients for the rest of the recipe. Next time I'd probably cut down on the salt per other reviews, because I don't think I'd miss it and it's healthier. I used the red pepper flakes and thought it was the perfect level of heat. I will definitely hang on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Great cajun seasoning! However, I too cut the salt in half, and used Italian seasoning instead of oregano (because I didn't have plain oregano). I used this for the Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce recipe from this site (I reviewed that, too). I didn't add the red pepper flakes but I wish I had once I made it! It would have added the perfect amount of heat -- don't hesitate to use it if you like spicier cajun seasoning! I will be using this recipe a lot in the future! One of the best simple recipe I've found in a while. I'm going to end up using it on everything ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I thought this was very good! Had just the heat I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Lifesaver! I was making a recipe from this site that required Cajun seasoning and I was out. Rather than run to the store I used this recipe and it worked perfectly. Like other reviewers I did cut the salt in half. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I mixed this up today and sprinkled a good amount on Ore-Ida's tater tots, to go with the Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes we were having for dinner. Good stuff! I served it with my homemade ranch dip, it went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States