Cajun Skillet Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe to the T! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Great recipe family loved it. Just added jalapeno pepper sausage to it made it have a nice spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I love this recipe, and my family and friends love this dish. They love it so much that I must double everything and make a pot of it instead of a skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Absolutely loved it. Of course, I did my own thing with the Rue but it turned out perfectly and is now and will be one of my favorite dishes to make, eat and serve. It tasted so good, I wanted to slap my self :- )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
pretty good. nice change of pace for a good , hearty weeknight meal. Serve it over white rice to make your meal complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was a great dish. Easy to make, packed with super-good veggies, a variety of proteins and a "kick" that is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aaalger
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Its great if you don't follow the recipe exactly. That is why I gave it three stars. It has a lot of potentional. First there is no way you can make a proper rue with 1 tbs buter and a half cup of flower. you should use equal parts butter and flour and you can use a little oil as well. I used three tablespoons butter, 1 tablespoon oil, and 4 tablespoons flour. The next problem I encountered was the onion soup mix made the onion flavor way over powering. I ended up thining it with a lot of warm water and then seasoning it with creole seasoning, and a few other seasonings I had on had to make up for the watering down. In the end it turned out fantastic. I served it over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe can be summed up in one word, AWESOME! I am a huge fan of Cajun food and this is the ultimate comfort Cajun. As long as you like all of the ingredients use them it is wonderful. I have never been any good at making a roux but I have made this so much that I am now an expert at it. Made this for my in-laws who live in Louisiana and are awesome Creole cooks and they both loved it. Give this a shot, you will not be disappointed. I have been using this recipe for a long time and I thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rightwing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was skeptical about this recipe because of the onion soup mix but it's wonderful. My only complaint is about the gravy, 1 tbsp of butter is not enough to cook the flour in. I had to use a few tablespoons and a little oil to have enough. You might want to rough chop the veggies, I think I might have chopped mine a little too fine and they practically disappeared. Next time I think I'll just slice the onion and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States