Cajun Skillet Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
As someone who loves cajun food, this was awesome to me. I loved it. It had just the right heat but then.......the cayenne and red pepper were "to taste"........my taste :) I used andouille instead of kielbasa. I also spiced up my shrimp as I cooked it and likewise with the chicken. As for the gravy,I didnt think it needed anything else but I had cayenne and red pepper in it already along with the salt and pepper. Great one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Yum this was a great tasting recipe. I was making this for the family....small children included so I left out the hot stuff and added Franks at the table. The flavor was great. I was like suemck not sure how the onion soup mix would work into it. I did not have zucchini, which I wish I did. But I did add some mushrooms and I went heavy on the peppers. This was great for dinner over a bit of brown rice....but even better the next day for lunch. Thanks Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This is a great recipe, but to make this recipe simpler I bought Tony Cachere's Jambalaya rice mix. Then cooked my peppers, onions,turkey sausage(in place of kielbasa), and shrimp. I found doing it this was you can make this dish in under 30-35 minutes. Plus, my hysbandwho always gets this dish if we eat at this certain restaurant said he coudln't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
My husband Chuck-Tony says it's easily an all-time household favorite. Even tasttier, he says, with Tabasco mixed in. Great on top of steamed white rice! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I made this dish using chicken, jumbo shrimp, and scallops. Great dish, Great spice, even my roommate ate it and he hates seafood....so we must be doing something right! I Will definately without a doubt make this dish again when I'm in the mood for a spicy entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDILEA
Home Town: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
My family loved this recipe. I added canned diced jalapenos (hot) and served it over Zatarain's New Orleans Rice Mix. My teenagers wrapped the rice and cajun mixture in flour tortillas the next day and said it was 'the bomb!' Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Wonderful Recipe, My girlfriend Loves it (makes me make it for her at least once a week) very easy to make and low in calories, magnificent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was excellent. I found that all the meats could be precooked. Pre-cooked sausage (like using Hillshire Farms sausage), precooked shrimp, and cooking the chicken ahead of time all wouldn't have affected this recipe. But, I enjoyed this over rice, and it was spectacular. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
We really like this. I used frozen gumbo mix vegetables instead of zucchini and some of the peppers. I was worried it would be too salty with the onion soup mix, but the gravy was perfect. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This was very good. I left out the sausage since I don't eat sausage, and added jalapenos. I also added some thick sliced bacon, cooked and crumbled to make up for the sausage. It was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States