Cajun Skillet Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
My husband Chuck-Tony says it's easily an all-time household favorite. Even tasttier, he says, with Tabasco mixed in. Great on top of steamed white rice! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Very good. We made it without the onion and it still had plenty of onion flavor from the onion soup. The chicken and shrimp could have used a little seasoning. Next time I will saute the meats separately and spice them up a little. It would be very good with roasted red potatoes as a side or in the recipe even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I was a little apprehensive about making this, I wasn't sure how the onion soup mix "gravy" would end up tasting, but my hubby and I both ended up really liking it! I left out the celery, chilis and green pepper, and added some fresh sliced mushrooms. I seasoned it with a cajun spice blend. I would suggest not adding the shrimp until about 15 minutes from the end of cooking time - they cook up quickly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
As someone who loves cajun food, this was awesome to me. I loved it. It had just the right heat but then.......the cayenne and red pepper were "to taste"........my taste :) I used andouille instead of kielbasa. I also spiced up my shrimp as I cooked it and likewise with the chicken. As for the gravy,I didnt think it needed anything else but I had cayenne and red pepper in it already along with the salt and pepper. Great one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This was very good. I left out the sausage since I don't eat sausage, and added jalapenos. I also added some thick sliced bacon, cooked and crumbled to make up for the sausage. It was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
My family loved this recipe. I added canned diced jalapenos (hot) and served it over Zatarain's New Orleans Rice Mix. My teenagers wrapped the rice and cajun mixture in flour tortillas the next day and said it was 'the bomb!' Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Okay...this is something i would make when i am running out of ideas or when i don't feel like making anything extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Yum this was a great tasting recipe. I was making this for the family....small children included so I left out the hot stuff and added Franks at the table. The flavor was great. I was like suemck not sure how the onion soup mix would work into it. I did not have zucchini, which I wish I did. But I did add some mushrooms and I went heavy on the peppers. This was great for dinner over a bit of brown rice....but even better the next day for lunch. Thanks Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Terrible. Too thick, onion flavor was overpowering, flour made it a thick sludge. Will never try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States