Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this for our "SOUPER" Bowl party -- it was a big hit! I got find the liquid crab and shrimp boil, so I used a mixture of the Old Bay Seasoning and a little water, but I am sure that the real thing would have been super! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This soup was REALLY good! My husband said it was the best thing I've ever made (and we've been together for 10 years). I didn't change anything about the recipe other than I didn't get the veggies very tender when sautéing them and we really liked the crunchiness that added later. I didn't have creole seasoning but had Penzey's Cajun seasoning and I used a teaspoon and a half of that. This is definitely a keeper and next time we'll add a can of crab meat to liven things up. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Excellent soup, I added a little extra creole and shrimp and crab boil. and topped with a little parmesan cheese. SUPER DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious! Will make again for sure! A great addition would be orien cut potatoes or black beans. My fam declares this a new FAV! I did add more of the Creole seasoning than called for because my fam likes it spicy, but not too hot. Keeper Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Outrageously Good! I am no cook, though I try really hard! I found this easy to make and absolutely delicious. My family, who is a hard audience to please, loved it! It is also such a pretty medley of colors when done. Very pleasing to the eye as well as palate. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I didn't have any shrimp & crab boil so I just used extra Creole seasoning but otherwise followed the recipe as is and it was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was as good as any restaurant bisque I have had in the past. I had nice blue lump crab meat, so I added it in the last 15 minutes. Also, I know that it has enough fat content already, but when making something for the fam for the first time, I go for all out taste - added a cup of shredded colby/jack cheese at end, and 1/2 can of rotel(suggestion from sis) (Tomatoes and green chile)... thanks! My shrimp and crab were glad they were not wasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The soup was delicious. I added another tablespoon of shrimp and crab boil. The soup was a lot thinner than Ia wanted it so I made a slurry with water and cornstarch to try and thicken the soup...it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
OMG!! This was soooo good. I am not much of a seafood fan, so I mixed things up and used roasted chicken. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
A creamy and yummy seafood soup. We made several changes: reduced butter to 1/4 cup, subbed golden mushroom soup for cream of mushroom, subbed seafood stock for water, 24 ounces of evaporated milk for half-and-half, and used Old Bay seasoning in lieu of liquid shrimp and crab boil seasoning. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States