Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was as good as any restaurant bisque I have had in the past. I had nice blue lump crab meat, so I added it in the last 15 minutes. Also, I know that it has enough fat content already, but when making something for the fam for the first time, I go for all out taste - added a cup of shredded colby/jack cheese at end, and 1/2 can of rotel(suggestion from sis) (Tomatoes and green chile)... thanks! My shrimp and crab were glad they were not wasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This soup was REALLY good! My husband said it was the best thing I've ever made (and we've been together for 10 years). I didn't change anything about the recipe other than I didn't get the veggies very tender when sautéing them and we really liked the crunchiness that added later. I didn't have creole seasoning but had Penzey's Cajun seasoning and I used a teaspoon and a half of that. This is definitely a keeper and next time we'll add a can of crab meat to liven things up. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this for our "SOUPER" Bowl party -- it was a big hit! I got find the liquid crab and shrimp boil, so I used a mixture of the Old Bay Seasoning and a little water, but I am sure that the real thing would have been super! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Outrageously Good! I am no cook, though I try really hard! I found this easy to make and absolutely delicious. My family, who is a hard audience to please, loved it! It is also such a pretty medley of colors when done. Very pleasing to the eye as well as palate. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good! Watch the crab boil if you have a sensitive mouth...over here we add a little smidge more-we are Louisianan's though lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarCreekFarm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I threw in some serrano peppers and hot sauce for an extra kick. I used skim milk instead of cream and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I didn't have any shrimp & crab boil so I just used extra Creole seasoning but otherwise followed the recipe as is and it was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used this for my cooking business. I didn't put in the liquid shrimp and my client liked it without that, he did say that it wasn't as cajun as he thought it would be though, so I would add some more spice to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmbymelissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious! Will make again for sure! A great addition would be orien cut potatoes or black beans. My fam declares this a new FAV! I did add more of the Creole seasoning than called for because my fam likes it spicy, but not too hot. Keeper Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
my husband and children loved this recipe it really is a keeper. I added an extra 1/2 tsp shrimp boil and seasoned to taste with creole seasoning it was to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States