Cajun Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My whole family loved it. I added a little extra cajun seasoning per some other comments and it was pretty spicy. I used a 4 lb top round roast cut in half and doubled the recipe. Didn't marinate the night before, but it was still great. We cooked it all day, so it was past med. but it was so tender it just shredded into pieces. We mixed in the sauce. Some of us made sandwiches and some put it on mashed potatoes. Definately a keeper! A refreshing change from italian beef in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was fantastic. Like a previous reviewer, I used cider vinegar because I didn't have malt. I put in extra horseradish because we like spice, but it actually wasn't too spicy. Great taste, though. I cooked it for 8 hours on low, then sliced it and put it back in the original drippings. We used it in steak Po'Boy sandwiches (french bread, mayo, lettuce, tomato). Really, really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gotta tell you that I made this and even without the Horseradish it was very good. I did add a little beef broth because I was afraid that it would be too dry and I wasn't going to be home to check on it. We made sandwiches out of it and it was gone fast. Next time I'm going to try it with the Horse radish and buy a bigger cut of roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This turned out so good. I didn't have malt vinegar so subbed cider vinegar. Served this with the Brazilian white rice from AR, salad and a crusty bread. Yummy. Left over's were great to if you shredd meat, reheat with some beef broth, add to toasted hoggie rolls, top with mozzerella cheese and broil till cheese is melted. Makes for a great left over meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The flavor is awesome tasty!! I cooked my 3lb roast for 5 hours and it was a little dry, but putting the drippings on it made it wonderful! Next time I'm going to try doubling the ingredients except the roast and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The marinade sounds great. When I make this, I'll do it the way I've made eye of round before. High temp. to start ( 425-450.) roast 15 min. per pound. Without opening oven, lower heat to 250 and roast another 1 to 1 1/2 hrs. til med. rare. This keeps the meat tender and juicy and very pink in the center. I did this with a 2# roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was looking for a new way to roast a venison backstrap and found this recipe. The spice blend is fabulous! The flavor really permeates and tenderizes. Using half a backstrap, I marinated in this and roasted for 25 minutes at 375 (for rare), then allowed to rest for 10 minutes before slicing. Hubby and I both thought the flavor was perfect! Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe- came out with wonderful flavor! Was slightly dry (but might be due more to cut of meat?) Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I doubled this and used it as a marinade for 5 pounds of moose. The next day we added a bottle of beer to the mixture and let it rest for 30-45 minutes at room temp and then slowly grilled the meat (topped with bacon). I do not eat moose, but received lots of positive feedback and was asked immediately for the recipe. We will be using this recipe again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The flavor was really good. I did not have the HR sauce at the time when I marinaied my roast. I did put a couple of Tbs HR sauce on the roast when I put it in the crock pot. I added some garlic to the marinaide as well and DOUBLED the spices cus we like a lot of flavor. Flavor we got! This would be really good on some buttered toasted buns for sandwiches. You could use the spices as a rub for smoking ribs, brisket or an arm roast. I will make this again...maybe next time putting on a pork roast. Thanks!UPDATE: WITH THE LEFT OVERS WE PUT ON SANDWHICHES AND ALSO IN FLOUR TORT. I ALSO UP ON PITA BREAD THE PUT A LAYER OF MOTZ CHEESE AND BAKED IN THE OVEN FOR 8 MIN. AT 350. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States