Cajun Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was looking for a new way to roast a venison backstrap and found this recipe. The spice blend is fabulous! The flavor really permeates and tenderizes. Using half a backstrap, I marinated in this and roasted for 25 minutes at 375 (for rare), then allowed to rest for 10 minutes before slicing. Hubby and I both thought the flavor was perfect! Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This turned out so good. I didn't have malt vinegar so subbed cider vinegar. Served this with the Brazilian white rice from AR, salad and a crusty bread. Yummy. Left over's were great to if you shredd meat, reheat with some beef broth, add to toasted hoggie rolls, top with mozzerella cheese and broil till cheese is melted. Makes for a great left over meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Ok Well this recipe was WAY off, but it's really good when done correctly. If you leave this in for 8-10 hours it's going to be a brick! I had a larger roast and it was over done at like 4 hours when I started to temp it. Start to temp this after two or three hours and it should come out ok. If you do over cook it, just slice it up and put it in a pot with gravy and it will come out more moist, and will be like pot roast. Then Add the original drippings to the gravy depending on how spicy you would like it. The flavor of this was REALLY great though! I highly recomned this, just remember to temp it earlier than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was fantastic. Like a previous reviewer, I used cider vinegar because I didn't have malt. I put in extra horseradish because we like spice, but it actually wasn't too spicy. Great taste, though. I cooked it for 8 hours on low, then sliced it and put it back in the original drippings. We used it in steak Po'Boy sandwiches (french bread, mayo, lettuce, tomato). Really, really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This had great taste, but I follwed the time reqd. and had a very dry roast. I am going to only do for about 4-5 hours. It also only fed 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
The marinade didn't give my roast much flavour. It only needed 3 hours on high in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Schiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The flavor wasn't what I had hoped for. It was too bland for me and to dry. It was a nice base though for a few changes I plan on making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The flavor is awesome tasty!! I cooked my 3lb roast for 5 hours and it was a little dry, but putting the drippings on it made it wonderful! Next time I'm going to try doubling the ingredients except the roast and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gotta tell you that I made this and even without the Horseradish it was very good. I did add a little beef broth because I was afraid that it would be too dry and I wasn't going to be home to check on it. We made sandwiches out of it and it was gone fast. Next time I'm going to try it with the Horse radish and buy a bigger cut of roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe- came out with wonderful flavor! Was slightly dry (but might be due more to cut of meat?) Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States