Cajun Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
The marinade is great. Being from Louisiana, I just had to double the horseradish and Cajun seasonings. I also used fresh garlic cloves all over the roast making little slits and inserting them. I have discovered a wonderful method cooking large cuts of meat. My children gave me an electric smoker - so easy to use. And you don't have to worry about the fire going out while you go do other things. I put the marinated roast on the smoker and plug it in. (There is a pan below where you put water to keep moisture in). Cook for 30 min per pound, testing after 2 hours for desired rareness/doneness. I LOVE my smoker - cook with smoke it without. Brinkmanship Electric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Good. Use half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I was surprised to find this recipe had very little taste, and I followed the recipe as outlined. I cooked it for a shorter time as well, and was glad I did as any longer it would have been even more of a bust. You'll need gravy with this guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great Flavor! Substituted cider vinegar for malt, added 1 cup beef stock and injected roast with some of the marinade. Allowed to marinade overnight. Grilled in a loaf pan, covered with foil for 2 1/2 hours at @ 300 degrees. Probably should have pulled it off after 2. It was a little dry but when drizzled with the gravy I made from the drippings it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe! I htink the only thing wrong is the choice of meat. Eye of the round is about the worst meat you could chose for the slow cooker. It has very little fat and collagen which is needed to keep meat moist and tender over long periods of cooking. A better choice might be chuck roast, rump roast or even brisket. The marinade is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Excellent Flavor! I doubled the ingredients and used a 3lb roast. The roast was cooked for 6 hours on low and I used a meat thermometer to get it to medium done. Excellent advice in the comments to use the meat thermometer to gauge things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I read through all the reviews before making this, and couldn't decide how long to leave the meat in the crockpot. We ended being away from home longer than anticipated, so the meat cooked the full 10 hours. By that time, the meat had cooked for so long that it shredded without any effort. We'll eat the leftovers on sandwich rolls. I did leave out the horseradish (didn't have any, and I don't care for it anyway) and used cider vinegar instead of malt. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awful if you want your roast anything but well done. Cooked a 4-1/2lb roast for 4 hours and it was tough as shoe leather - well beyond anything resembling rare. Maybe tender if left in as long as indicated but we wanted a medium rare roast. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I thought that this was a great way to change up roast beef! My girls loved it. She said it kind of reminded her of corned beef. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very good! Like most other reviews, do not cook that long! We did a 3lb roast on low for 2.5 hours and my husband would have preferred some pink and there was none. We also did extra garlic and red pepper flakes-- we love spice! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States