Cajun Red Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
One of our favorite fish, and a great recipe for the spicy cajun lover. I substituted grape seed oil for the butter as it has a much hotter splatter point so foods tend not to scortch on the outside while not cooking in the middle, (a lot more healthy than butter or even olive oil too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The combination of these spices is great! Based on other reviews, I used a little less black pepper and cayenne. I didn't have any red spapper, so I used tilapia instead...can't wait to try it with red snapper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good. Very tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
HOLY SMOKE! I cooked this in a stainless steel pan, and it smoked the house up pretty good. Wouldn't recommend if you can't ventilate. Otherwise, I cooked it as written, and it was a wonderful blackened fish. I always have all these ingredients on hand, and will be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Casselberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is a very tasty and easily prepared fish. I used two 6 ounce fillets but 1/2 the recipe and ended up using a little extra oil and butter before turning the snapper. The spices are very easy to prepare in advance; in fact, this recipe would be wonderful on a camping trip. Excellent color and presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
good, but next time I would go easy on the amount I put on the fish---it overwhelmed the fish flavor. I think some of the herbs could be decreased too. Will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
My son now loves fish because of this recipe..I have used it on chicken and pork als. make extra so you can store it to have on hand for other dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mary

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Yum! I only wish it were spicier. This tasted delicious with bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Hmm...this recipe was ok. The seasoning was very good, HOWEVER red snapper is a pretty mild fish and the spices completely overpowered the fish. I couldn't taste the fish at all actually, which was a real shame because it was incredibly fresh and would have been delightful with a little lemon, garlic and soy. If you're going to make this, use a fish that can hold up to the strong seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Very good... not too spicy not too dull. would probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States