Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Let me just start off by saying that I have made this 3 times in 3 weeks and I am not one to repeat a recipe, let alone this often! There were some things changed, but not much. First, I used Hot Italian Sausage with casings removed instead of Andouille. Browned that with some minced garlic and onion, no butter or oil needed, and drained the meat. I added cooked bacon and this was a great addition! Used skim milk and fat free half and half, sprinkled cayenne, then with some garlic cheesy bread you have an AWESOME dinner!! (The Hot sausage does add a little bit of a red greasy layer on top- wish I knew how to eliminate that, but I don’t think it is possible with this kind of sausage, and that isn’t changing bc we like spicy!!) My fiancé begs for this now! Quick, easy, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I love this recipe, it is great to taste easy to make, I can easily serve with a clear conscience as i love food and i lover fat. I always put double cream in all my cream soups. sometimes I substitute cabbage for spinach. or bacon for sausage I always fry my meats prior to adding to the soups , I then brown my white flour in a frying pan mix it with some of the liquids pour it in the soup to thicken it up , this makes the soup really thick. YUM YUM thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe was really great! It reminded me of the yummy soup at The Olive Garden. It's not thick but has a good spicy flavor and tastes delicious. I took it to a church potluck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Colton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this recipe for some clients and it was average. My professional opinion is that it was unnecessarily rich. A little goes a long way, but the bold Andouille flavor was an important element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Manhattan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very tasty soup....used half polish sausage and half andouille.........yum........the spinach is great in it....finished it of in the crockpot on low......will definitely make again......thankyou!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zolar55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This soup was great! My soup hating family loved it. I did add some chopped celery in when I sauted the onions. When I served it I sprinkled some Cayenne pepper to my bowl after adding the cheese to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a good recipe ... i used polish sausage and little smokies and added some cajun seasoning to give it some pep. Also used less garlic. I made a big pot for our Christmas party with friends, they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used Turkey Polska Kielbasa. Used half & half instead of heavy cream because that is what I had. Added ground cayenne pepper to give this recipe a little heat. Amazing recipe and Oh! so good. I like a thicker soup so I used a small amount of corn starch with some of the hot soup that was added back to the pot to thicken. Prepared this tonight and will have it for dinner tomorrow. Can't wait!! Thank you! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is delicious. My 4 yr old daughter asked if she could eat it for breakfast tomorrow. I used polish sausage because that is what I had. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. I agree with the other reviewers that said it wasn't exceptionally "cajun" but maybe the other sausage would have made the difference. It was exceptionally flavorful and will definitely be a regular at our house since everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made it just the way the recipe is written and it is perfect! This is now on the regular dinner rotation with some Texas toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Shock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States