Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe was really great! It reminded me of the yummy soup at The Olive Garden. It's not thick but has a good spicy flavor and tastes delicious. I took it to a church potluck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Colton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Really good! Although it wasn't quite as spicy as I hoped. It really reminded me of the similar soup at the Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This soup was great! My soup hating family loved it. I did add some chopped celery in when I sauted the onions. When I served it I sprinkled some Cayenne pepper to my bowl after adding the cheese to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This soup was delicious!! It is really good with some crusty bread to soak up the juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Good Recipe! Very filling and loved the spinach. But when I make it next time I will skip the olive oil and go with a fresh sausage for more flavor. Maybe even a pan sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Everyone in my family loved this!!! I used chicken sausage instead and it was so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I'm so happy,I made this soup tonight and I just love it! I didn't have adouille sausage,I had some deer/pork and some just plain but spicy pork sausage and the soup came out fine. My son said 'Pretty good',I'll be sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Let me just start off by saying that I have made this 3 times in 3 weeks and I am not one to repeat a recipe, let alone this often! There were some things changed, but not much. First, I used Hot Italian Sausage with casings removed instead of Andouille. Browned that with some minced garlic and onion, no butter or oil needed, and drained the meat. I added cooked bacon and this was a great addition! Used skim milk and fat free half and half, sprinkled cayenne, then with some garlic cheesy bread you have an AWESOME dinner!! (The Hot sausage does add a little bit of a red greasy layer on top- wish I knew how to eliminate that, but I don’t think it is possible with this kind of sausage, and that isn’t changing bc we like spicy!!) My fiancé begs for this now! Quick, easy, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I'd give it 7 stars if I could! This is one of the best soups I have ever had! My husband and I loved it so much and I even took some over to my parents for them to try! I substituted the sausage for german sausage, and used red potatoes instead of russet. It was delicious and I will be making it a lot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kma733

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We both like spicy but the andouille may have been a little too spicy. The broth was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States