Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I love this soup. To cut down on the heat I used 1/2 andouille and 1/2 beef brats. Instead of italian seasoning I used the dried spices in the Parmesan Potato Soup recipe on this site. 2 cups of milk is way too much. I used about 3/4 c and still thickened soup with 2 tbls of corn starch and water. I didn't have Parmesan so I used Romano and added it directly to the soup - about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
OMG!! This was a very tasty and hearty soup. Like some of the others, I too added more heavy cream and sausage to make it thicker. I took some to work and end of bringing the left overs to work to share. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Yes this is very good. We loved it! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I have always wanted to know how to make this soup it reminds me of Olive Gardens Zuppa Toscana Ima try and make it for my family Christmas Dinner im sure it will be a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
i exchanged the spinach for chopped kale. i made this soup for a ladies luncheon then served the leftovers at dinner with friends the same evening. rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very good. My hubby said that it was one of the best soups that I have made so far and I cook soup just about every Sunday. I used one pound andouile sausage and one pound boudin cajun sausage. It worked out well becausee the boudin is made with rice and when it was cooked it fell apart in the soup and gave it a great flavor and I think helped thicken the soupl. Both kids liked it..Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was a most fabulous recipe and I found that it did remind me of my favorite soup at Olive Garden. The andouille sausage was a new experience to me. I found it delicious, however, I have some family that likes a milder taste. Next time, I will try 1lb of kielbasa and 1lb of the andouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Claymont, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was an amazing soup. My 11 year-old raved and made “Mmmmmm” sounds while eating. It has quite a bit of prep, but not unmanageable. It let it simmer longer than stated and made it a bit thicker as it is not a really thick soup and I like my creamy soups to be on thicker side. I did use the andouille in the recipe, and it added a lot of flavor. The next time I make it I am going to try Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
OMGosh! This was a HUGE hit here at the home front. I think this is our new favorite winter soup. Couldn't be easier to make. Loved it. Instead of spinach I used Kale and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I was not impressed by this recipe. I assumed that with the heavy cream, this would be a cream soup, but was as thin as water. The flavor was ok, but there is a lot of Italian seasoning, to the point of excessivez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States